About Us

Established in 1948, the University of Michigan's Department of Anesthesiology is one of the oldest academic anesthesiology departments in the country. Our department exists to meet the University of Michigan's objectives in patient care, research and education. Our tradition of excellence is guided by the values of respect, compassion, integrity, efficiency and leadership. Learn more about our:

Message From the Chair

The Department of Anesthesiology was established as an independent academic department at the University of Michigan in 1948. Since that time, the department has made significant progress clinically, educationally and academically so that today, it stands as one of the foremost departments of anesthesiology in the country.

We have the largest residency training program and the largest alumni base in the nation. We train over 140 residents and fellows in all the sub-specialties of anesthesiology, so that they may become future leaders in the field. Our 155-plus faculty comprise clinical, educational and academic units which altogether provide anesthesia care in four hospitals, three surgery centers, four critical care units, seven pain clinics and various research laboratories.  

Our research program spans the gamut from basic sciences of theoretical modeling of consciousness through preclinical, translational, clinical and observational research. The U-M Department of Anesthesiology is also home to the Center for Consciousness Research as well as the Multicenter Perioperative Outcomes Group (MPOG), the world-wide collaborative on perioperative outcomes research. Our mission is to provide the safest anesthesia care, while training the next generation of clinicians and academicians, so as to continue our contributions to new knowledge in the field.

Kevin K. Tremper, PhD, MD
Robert B. Sweet Professor
Chair, Department of Anesthesiology