September 7, 2017

Daniel Clauw, M.D. Receives Dean's Award

Dr. Clauw receives 2017 Clinical Research Award

The Dean’s Awards Program recognizes Medical School faculty and staff who demonstrate exceptional accomplishment in the areas of teaching, research, clinical care, community service, innovation and administration. See the full list of awards below:

2017 Dean’s Awards for Faculty


Basic Science Research Award

Anthony Antonellis, Ph.D., associate professor of human genetics and neurology

Peter K. Todd, M.D., Ph.D., Bucky and Patti Harris Career Development Professor of Neurology, associate professor of neurology


Clinical Research Award

Daniel J. Clauw, M.D., professor of anesthesiology, internal medicine and psychiatry


Community Service Award

Vladimir M. Ognenovski, M.D. (global), assistant professor of internal medicine

Mark E.P. Prince, M.D. (global), professor of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery

Sheila M. Marcus, M.D. (local), professor of psychiatry

Margaret A. Riley, M.D. (local), assistant professor of family medicine


Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research

Peter R. Arvan, M.D., Ph.D., William K. and Delores S. Brehm Professor of Type I Diabetes Research, professor of internal medicine and molecular and integrative physiology


Health Services Research Award

M.E. Michele Heisler, M.D., M.P.A., professor of internal medicine


Innovation and Commercialization Award

Shaomeng Wang, Ph.D., Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, professor of internal medicine and pharmacology

Kevin R. Ward, M.D., professor of emergency medicine and biomedical engineering


Kaiser Permanente Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Jennifer N. Stojan, M.D. (pre-clinical), assistant professor of internal medicine and pediatrics and communicable diseases

Zachary N. London, M.D. (clinical), associate professor of neurology


Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Care

Richard H. Simon, M.D., professor of internal medicine


Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education

Katharine F. Barald, Ph.D., professor of cell and developmental biology and biomedical engineering

Michael J. Shea, M.D., professor of internal medicine


Outstanding Clinician Award

James D. Geiger, M.D., Daniel H. Teitelbaum, M.D., Collegiate Professor of Surgery, professor of surgery

Rachel L. Glick, M.D., professor of psychiatry

Marie M. Lozon, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases and emergency medicine

John M. Park, M.D., Cheng-Yang Chang Professor of Pediatric Urology, professor of urology


2017 Dean’s Awards for Staff


Administrator of the Year Award

Matthew C. Comstock, MBA, MHSA, executive director for administration, chief operating officer


Professional Staff of the Year Award

Lisa F. Garber, M.A., education coordinator, Department of Pharmacology


Support Staff of the Year Award

Rebecca E. Weeks, admissions specialist, Office of Admissions