Meet our DEI Team

Our Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) committee meets regularly together and in break out teams to make significant improvements in diversity, equity, and inclusion in our department and the Bioinformatics Graduate Program. 

Our DEI Team

Faculty Representatives

Maureen Sartor - sartorma@umich.edu

DEI Interests: DEI lead, making DCMB and our Bioinformatics Graduate Program more diverse and inclusive overall by making DEI a top priority, serving as a faculty advocate for students who are marginalized in any way, and attending ABRCMS

Alan Boyleapboyle@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Increasing student diversity, helping first generation graduate students, and attending SACNAS

Margit Burmeistermargit@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Retention and success for all students and helping student programs with outreach such as K-12 outreach to underrepresented communities

Peter Freddolinopetefred@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Ensuring a safe, inclusive department for everyone; diversifying faculty recruitment. 

Alla Karnovsky - akarnovs@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Diversifying student recruitment, and helping students transition from undergraduate programs to the Master’s level. 

Jun Li - junzli@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Increasing diversity in academia. 

Cristina Mitrea - mitrea@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Promoting women in STEM. I serve as advisor for DCMB’s Girls Who Code 

Reza Soroushmehr - ssoroush@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Helping to ensure a safe, inclusive department, especially for immigrants and those of any religion. 

Cristen Willer - cristen@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Ensuring representation of ancestry and other diverse groups amongst our trainees and breaking down embedded racism and sexism in the university.  Community outreach (e.g. high school students) to increase interest in STEM.

Student Representatives

Olivia Alge - oialge@med.umich.edu

DEI Interests: Supporting students from underrepresented backgrounds, and serving as a student advocate

Gabrielle Dotsondotsonga@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Underrepresented minority student recruitment and outreach - serve as student liaison for recruitment events and engagement with minority STEM/Engineering societies (e.g. NSBE, SHPE, AISES, etc.)

Elizabeth Gensterblum-Miller - gensterb@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Work for tangible, concrete goals; inter-departmental DEI collaborations 

Kevin Huang - kghuang@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Master’s recruitment of URM and first generation students, especially into our Accelerated Master’s Degree Program (AMDP) 

Cathy Smithsmithcat@umich.edu

DEI Interests: serving as a student DEI advocate 

Monica Holmesmhholmes@umich.edu

DEI Interests: To help build a community among Bioinformatics graduate students and to act as a liaison between students and faculty/staff

Staff Representatives

Mary Freer - mfreer@umich.edu

DEI Interests: Anti-racism efforts, decreasing disparities in opportunities 

Jane Wiesnerjwiesner@med.umich.edu

DEI Interests: Transparency of DEI information

DEI Team Goals and Activities

  1. Work with university leadership to advocate for a more equitable and inclusive climate for the entire University of Michigan community
  2. Take steps to improve inclusiveness and equity in our department based on a planned internal climate survey. 
  3. Develop relationships with partner institutions to enhance diverse student recruitment. HBCUs and other Minority serving institutions are encouraged to contact us.
  4. Apply for a Rackham Diversity Grant next funding round
  5. Host a symposium and discussion panel on Bioinformatics in Health Disparities Research
  6. Partner with similar departments to increase recruitment of diverse faculty, and ensure that DCMB follows DEI recommendations in all faculty recruitment efforts