July 2, 2013

Inaugural Chairman’s Cup Golf Championship

The inaugural Chairman’s Cup golf championship was played on June 11th, 2013 at the University of Michigan’s Radrick Farms golf course between the emergency medicine faculty and residents at Wayne State University and University of Michigan/St. Joes Mercy.  Five two-person teams from each program competed in a best ball, match play format for the highly coveted Chairman’s Cup.

From left: Dr. Brian O'Neil, Chair,  Wayne State University and Dr. Robert Neumar, Chair, University of Michigan

This year, the University of Michigan/St. Joes Mercy Program took control of the Cup by a margin of 4-0-1. However, the biggest winner was the Hope Clinic, which provides much needed care for the medically uninsured and underinsured in Washtenaw County.  Hope clinic was selected by the winning team as the beneficiary of a $1,000 donation.

Next year’s competition will be played on Wayne State’s home turf, and each team is poised to continue what looks to be a long-standing battle for golf supremacy in Southeast Michigan.


2013 Cup participants were:

Wayne State University Team:

Brian O’Neil, Paul Chrobak, Victor Coba, Trifun Dimitrijevski, Mark Favot, Sarkis Kouyoumjian, Kerin Jones, Phil Levy, Wesley Martus, Thomas Sanderson, Robert Sherwin & Marc Velilla

U of M/St. Joes Mercy Team:

Robert Neumar, Joel Krauss, Patrick Maier, John McCabe, Chris Newton, Rich Owens, Jim Pribble, John Ray, Michael Roebuck & Eric Wei