Advances and Innovation in Emergency Critical Care Conference (AIEC3)

Wednesday, April 1 - Saturday, April 4, 2020

Join us Wednesday, April 1 through Saturday, April 4, 2020 at the beautiful Dreams Resort in Las Mareas, Costa Rica for the Inaugural Advances and Innovation in Emergency Critical Care Conference (AIEC3)!

Hosted by the University of Michigan's Department of Emergency Medicine, Division of Critical Care and the Michigan Center for Integrative Research in Critical Care, this course is directed towards all emergency critical care physicians, residents, nurses, mid-level providers, and other practitioners managing critically ill patients interested in advancements and innovations to improve patient care.
This conference is designed to provide a review of the current advancements in emergency critical care. At the conclusion of this conference, participants will be able to:
• Discuss the practical updates in emergency critical care
• Implement best practices and advancements in management of emergency critical care patients
• Describe the latest evidence and data to enhance clinical practice

Keynote Speakers

Jeffrey A. Kline, MD

Indiana University
Professor of Emergency Medicine
Vice Chair and Division Chief, Research
Editor in Chief, Academic Emergency Medicine

Dr. Jeffrey Kline is Vice Chair of Research in emergency medicine and a professor of physiology at Indiana University School of Medicine. He is the present Editor In Chief of Academic Emergency Medicine and Academic  Emergency Medicine Education and Training.


His research looks at the intersection of thrombosis and emergency care. His special interest is in revealing the mechanisms of intuitive decision making that physicians use to decide whether or not to evaluate a patient for pulmonary embolism.  His long term goal is to improve how physicians acquire and process information at the bedside to make good clinical decisions and build empathy with patients.

Lori Shutter, MD, FNCS, FCCM

University of Pittsburgh
Vice Chair of Education, Department of Critical Care Medicine
Professor, Critical Care Medicine, Neurology, and Neurosurgery

Dr. Shutter is the Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Critical care Medicine, directs the Multidisciplinary Critical Care Fellowship Training Program, serves as medical director of the Neurovascular and Neurotrauma ICUs, and leads the development of the Neurocritical Care (NCC) Program. Her clinical work is primarily in the Neurovascular and Neurotrauma ICUs where she cares for patients with stroke, subarachnoid hemorrhage, status epilepticus, and traumatic brain injury.


She has lead efforts to strengthen collaborative relationships between critical care and the neurosciences through educational activities, the creation of clinical practice guidelines, and facilitating quality improvement and research activities.

Demetri Yannopoulos, MD

University of Minnesota
Professor of Medicine, Cardiovascular Division
Research Director, Interventional Cardiology
Director, Minnesota Resuscitation Consortium

Dr. Yannopoulos joined the University of Minnesota faculty in 2008. In March 2010, he became the research director for interventional cardiology. He is board-certified in internal medicine, cardiology, and interventional cardiology. His clinical interests include emergent cardiac care, coronary-artery disease, and congenital and peripheral intervention.


His research involves cardiopulmonary resuscitation, hypothermia, and myocardial salvage during acute coronary syndromes. He is considered an authority in cardiorespiratory interactions and hypothermia during CPR. His work in the laboratories of Dr. Keith Lurie (at the University of Minnesota) and Dr. Henry Halperin (at Johns Hopkins University) has helped change current CPR practices.