James V. Neel Lectureship

James V Neel
James V. Neel, M.D., Ph.D. 

The 18th Neel Lecture will be on May 24, 2018 at 2:00 pm in BSRB Kahn Auditorium. The speaker is Dr. Uta Francke 

Uta Francke is professor of Genetics and Pediatrics Emerita at Stanford University. Her research has ranged from human and mouse chromosome identification and gene mapping to the discovery of genes involved in heritable disorders, studies of their functions and of disease-causing mechanisms. Applying genomic technologies to mammalian genetics research, her laboratory developed mouse models for human microdeletion syndromes. 

Dr. Francke holds an M.D. from the University of Munich, Germany. She is board-certified in Pediatrics, and in Clinical and Molecular Genetics and Cytogenetics. She has been an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the recipient of the Antoine Marfan Award from the National Marfan Foundation, the Colonel Harland Sanders Lifetime Achievement Award in Genetics from the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation and the William Allan Award from the American Society of Human Genetics. In 2014,, she received the Association for Molecular Pathology Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics. She has been elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, the American Association for Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is a past-president of the American Society for Human Genetics and of the International Federation of Human Genetics Societies, and a founding member of the American College of Medical Genetics. Dr. Francke teaches medical and molecular genetics at Stanford. 

Dr. Francke has served as a consultant to 23andMe.Inc since 2007, and as a part-time employee from 2010-2013. In her role a Senior Medical Director she was involved in the preparation of health report and in various research projects, foremost the study of consumer responses to receiving BRCA mutation results.

For more information, contact the Department of Human Genetics, 734-647-3149.

James V. Neel Lecturers:

  • 2017 - Neil Risch
  • 2016 - Andrew Clark (Watch Recorded Video)
  • 2015 - Haig H. Kazazian Jr
  • 2014 - Richard P. Lifton
  • 2013 - Huntington F. Willard
  • 2012 - Mary Claire King
  • 2011 - David Page
  • 2010 - David Botstein
  • 2009 - Aravinda Chakravarti 
  • 2008 - Janet Rowley
  • 2007 - Joe Goldstein
  • 2006 - Newton Morton
  • 2005 - Charles Scriver
  • 2004 - Arno Motulsky
  • 2003 - James Crow
  • 2002 - Cavalli-Sforza
  • 2001 - Jack Schull