May 20, 2021

2021 Immunology Awards Announcement (Miller Fund & Monte V. Hobbs)

The Graduate Program in Immunology in care of the Graduate Student Affairs Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's Immunology awards.

The Herman & Dorothy Miller Award for Innovative Immunology Research is a philanthropically endowed fund at the University of Michigan Medical School dedicated to the support of innovative research in immunology. This year's recipients are Mack Reynolds (O'Riordan Lab) and Shannon Estadt (Kahlenberg Lab

The Monte V. Hobbs Student Award was established through the generous contributions of friends, family and colleagues to honor the memory of Monte V. Hobbs, a leader in research of the aging process in immunology and a pioneer in the development and implementation of the RNAse protection assay to study cytokines. This year’s awardees are Patrick Coit and Eli Olson.

Each of the awardees will be given $500 for their personal use.

The Miller Fund Awardees will also each receive $20K for their mentors to use toward their graduate education.

We look forward to the awardees and applicants' virtual presentations at our Immunology Retreat on June 10. 

A hearty thank you to all of you who participated in these competitions and congratulations to the recipients!