The Research Training in Experimental Immunology T32 has had an enormous and widespread impact at UM by fostering the development of the Graduate Program in Immunology (GPI), providing a cohesive infrastructure to bring multidisciplinary researchers from across campus together to facilitate collaborations on problems of immunologic importance, stimulating immunology-related faculty recruitment and providing outstanding research and mentoring support to meet the growing demands of students and post-doctoral fellows wanting to prepare for immunology-related careers. UM’s Immunology T32 was initially funded by an NIAID grant awarded in 1993. The 1993 application played an important and cohesive role in bonding immunology research laboratories located in various administrative homes across the medical school and involved faculty scientists and trainees who were associated with multiple participating departments, including Pathology, Surgery, Microbiology & Immunology, and several divisions in the Department of Internal Medicine. This interdisciplinary structure provided an inclusive environment to place our students and fellows into the best immunology laboratories at UM. The Immunology T32 organized resources from both the institution and the T32 itself to support its preceptors and trainees. These programs are still active today and include a weekly work in progress seminar; a monthly invited speaker seminar program; and “Research Colloquium” courses that offer students an opportunity for focused, guided study of “Special Topics in Translational Immunology” and “Methods in Immunology”. The seminar series also serves to gather diverse faculty and post-doctoral researchers, including many not officially associated with the GPI, but with overlapping research interests together to facilitate interactions and collaborations.  The T32 also helps to sponsor an annual retreat for the Immunology community.

The Director and co-Director of the Research Training in Experimental Immunology T32 are:

Bethany Moore, Ph.D. 
Professor of Internal Medicine and Interim-Chair, Microbiology & Immunology, Director Immunology T32
Research interests: Transplantation, viral and bacterial host defense, fibrosis).  

Shannon Carty, MD 
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology and Oncology
Research interests: epigenetic modifiers that regulate normal and malignant T lymphocytes

For information about joining the T32 as a faculty preceptor or to apply for support by the T32, please contact Drs. Moore or Carty at the emails above.

The executive committee for the T32 also includes:

Phil King, Ph.D. 
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Former Director Graduate Program in Microbiology & Immunology
Research interests: T cell signaling and lymphatic development

Asma Nusrat, MD 
Aldred S. Warthin Professor of Pathology, Director of Experimental Pathology
Research interests: Epithelial cell biology, cell adhesion and inflammation   

Marc Peters-Golden, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine, Former Director of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine fellowship program
Research interests: Macrophage biology, microvesicles

Weiping Zou, M.D., PhD.
Charles B. De Nancrede Professor of Surgery,
Immunology and Biology, co-Director, Tumor Immunology and Host Response Program
Director, Translational Research, Co-Director, Immune Monitoring Core
Research interests: Tumor immunology and epigenetics

Steve Kunkel, PhD
Endowed Professor of Pathology, Senior Associate Dean for Research
Former ITTP Director and co-Director
Research interests: Epigenetics, chemokine and cytokine biology

Our T32 currently supports 5 predoctoral and 2 post-doctoral fellows each year. Preference is given to supporting 2nd year PhD students who are working in an immunologically relevant laboratory.  Students can be in any PhD program and apply.  Preference is given to 1st or 2nd year post-doctoral fellows, although any eligible post-doctoral fellow can apply.  Because the T32 is federally funded, applicants must be US citizens or permanent residents.

We are proud to welcome our cohort of trainees for the 2020-21 academic year.

Predoctoral Trainees:

Henry Gong

Emma Lauder

Elena Levi-D’Ancona

Brandon McClellan

Dawit Teferi Mengistu

Postdoctoral Trainees:

Alanna Condren

Andrew Diamos:  Andrew is working with Dr. Christiane Wobus