Awards and Recognition


  • Michigan Medicine Cardiology and Heart Surgery ranks #13 nationally on the U.S. News & World Report Best Hospitals Honor Roll ranking
  • Geoff Barnes, MD – Early Career Endowment Award winner
  • L. Michel Espinoza-Fonseca, PhD - awarded early-stage funding from Michigan Drug Discovery and Rogel Cancer Center
  • Hitinder Gurm, MD  - awarded Mi-TRAC award - part of the University of Michigan MTRAC for Life Sciences Innovation Hub
  • Salim Hayek, MD - awarded the Samuel A. Levine Early Career Clinical Investigator Award from the American Heart Association
  • Daniel Lawrence, PhD - received a Michigan Drug Discovery Pilot Grant 
  • Brahmajee Nallamothu, MD, MPH - appointed to serve on the Medicare Evidence Development & Coverage Advisory Committee 


  • William Armstrong - American Society of Echocardiography, Nominating Committee
  • Eugene Chen, MD, PhD - Life-time Achievement Award, Chinese American Diabetes Association
  • Timothy Cotts – Department of Internal Medicine Clinical Excellence Society
  • Hitinder Gurm, MBBS - Outstanding Research Mentor Award, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
  • Hitinder Gurm, MBBS - 50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety, Becker’s Healthcare
  • Vallerie McLaughlin - Overall Team Winner – Frankel CVC Directors’ award, Heart Vessel Blood Clinical Trials Support Unit (HVB-CTSU)
  • Venkatesh Murthy, MD, PhD - Zaret-Beller Award, Journal of Nuclear Cardiology & American Society of Nuclear Cardiology
  • Venkatesh Murthy, MD,PhD - Inaugural Hal O’Bien Rising Start Award, High country Nuclear Medicine Conference
  • Mark Norris - Making a Difference Award
  • Mark Norris - The Evan Newport HOPE Award Nominee


  • Kim Eagle, MD - Distinguished Service Award from the Rotary Club of Ann Arbor
  • Peter Hagan, MD - Frankel Cardiovascular Center Education Award
  • David Karpenko - Administrative Excellence Award
  • Daniel Michele, PhD - Frankel Cardiovascular Center Research Award
  • Shashank Sinha, MD, MSc - American Medical Association Foundation Leadership Award


  • Hitinder Gurm, MD - MHA Keystone Center Patient Safety & Quality Leadership Award
  • Hitinder Gurm, MD - U-M Department of Internal Medicine Special Recognition for Contributions to the House Officer Teaching Program
  • Matthew Konerman, MD - Heart Failure Society of Young Investigator Award in Clinical and Integrative Physiology