Steven Gradwohl "Art of Primary Care" Award

Steven Gradwohl, MD
Steven Gradwohl, MD

Dr. Steven Gradwohl was a clinical assistant professor of internal medicine from 1994 - 2013. Known as a "physician's physician", he practiced general internal medicine at the Briarwood Medical Group and was devoted to high-quality patient care and training future physicians. A graduate of Carleton College and the University of Chicago's Pritzker School of Medicine, Dr. Gradwohl had been named by his peers as one of the Best Doctors in America several times. He was a U.S. Army veteran, having served on active duty while in medical residency at the Letterman Army Medical Center in San Francisco, and in medical leadership posts at Fort Lee in Virginia and the Presidio in San Francisco. He came to Michigan in 1994, attracted by the opportunity to take part in medical education in an outpatient setting.

"Being a primary care physician has been unbelievably rewarding for me. There are many other fields with higher pay, and perhaps shorter hours, but none that rivals being a patient's primary health care provider." - Dr. Steven Gradwohl, 2012


On Saturday, April 6, 2019, the Division of General Medicine, in partnership with the Department of Internal Medicine, hosted the 5th Annual Gradwohl Art of Primary Care Workshop. The Gradwohl Art of Primary Care Workshop provides a great opportunity for the Primary Care faculty to come together for networking and learning purposes. The event illustrates genuine institutional and departmental commitment to Primary Care and is made possible via the generous contributions from friends and family of the late Dr. Steve Gradwohl. The workshop program includes a featured presentation by a nationally recognized visiting speaker and other local leaders. This year’s theme was “Empowering Primary Care”.  Our invited speaker, Dr. Thomas McGinn, David J. Greene Professor of Medicine at the Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine, Chair of the Department of Medicine, Deputy Physician in Chief and Senior Vice President of the Northwell Health Medicine Service Line gave a high level overview of Academic GIM in an Expanding Health System.

A highlight of the workshop is the presentation of the Gradwohl Art of Primary Care award. This prestigious award is presented each year to a respected General Internal Medicine physician who is dedicated to the provision of exceptional patient care in the ambulatory setting, while also demonstrating enthusiasm for teaching, engagement in institutional service, and consistently positive interactions with other faculty and staff.

2019 Gradwohl Art of Primary Care Award Recipient

Paul Fine, MD

Dr. Paul Fine is a graduate of Harvard University and the University of Michigan Medical School. He completed a residency in internal medicine at the University of Michigan in 1992 and stayed on for a year as chief medical resident. He then joined the faculty of the Division of General Internal Medicine and has been a primary care physician at the Taubman Center since then. He attends on resident hospital services and holds a number of teaching positions within the medical school. Dr. Fine is an excellent clinician who is admired by his patients, students, colleagues, and staff. We applaud Dr. Fine and recognize his longstanding commitment to the provision of clinical excellence, education to students and residents, and service to the organization.

Past Winners

2018 - Linda Terrell, MD

Dr. Linda Terrell earned her medical degree from the University of Chicago, Pritzker School of Medicine, and completed internal medicine residency training at the Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Terrell has had both a longstanding personal and professional connection to Dr. Steve Gradwohl and his family. For many years, they were practice partners together at the U-M Briarwood Medical Group where she is currently the Medical Director.  She is a member of the Clinical Excellence Society and she serves on the Physician Wellness Subcommittee. We applaud Dr. Terrell and recognize her longstanding commitment to the provision of clinical excellence, education to students and residents, and service to the organization.

2017 - Julie Morelock, MD
Dr. Julie Morelock earned her undergraduate degree from Northwestern and her Medical Degree here at the University of Michigan. Dr. Morelock completed residency training at the University of Michigan and joined the faculty in 2001. She initially practiced at Livonia and Canton Health Centers prior to moving to the Saline Health Center in 2004. Dr. Morelock has longstanding dedication to resident education. She served on the institutional Primary Care Task Force. She is an active member of the Clinical Excellence Society, serving as Councilor and is also a member of the Mentorship Committee. “Julie’s patients continually rave about her medical knowledge, her ability to navigate through the University of Michigan with referrals and coordination of care, and her caring personality.”

2016 - Thomas O'Connor, MD
Dr. Thomas O'Connor earned his MD, completed his internship and residency, and served as Chief Medical Resident at the University of Michigan. Since joining the faculty in the Department of Internal Medicine in 1985, Dr. O’Connor has had a significant impact on our primary care delivery and educational programs, distinguishing himself as an educator, clinician, and administrator. He served as the Medical Director of the Briarwood Medical Group practice from 1991 through 2015 and as the Associate Division Chief for Ambulatory Care until recently accepting an opportunity to teach medical students in the new M-Home teaching curriculum. As a practicing physician, Dr. O’Connor has managed a large clinical practice of patients who are extremely dedicated to him as their doctor.

2015 - Elisa Ostafin, MD
Dr. Elisa Ostafin was recognized for her strong commitment to the art and practice of primary care. A member of the University faculty since 1985, Dr. Ostafin currently serves as the Medical Director of the West Ann Arbor Health Center and as a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine. Dr. Ostafin has taught M1 through M4 medical students, and is currently a Clinical Educator for the Clinical Foundations of Medicine Sequence for the M1 and M2 students. She also supervises M3 students and internal medicine residents in continuity clinics. Dr. Ostafin has been named to the Hour Detroit Top Docs list as well as the Best Doctors in America list. Beyond her role as a Medical Director, Dr. Ostafin serves on the Michigan Primary Care Transformation Steering Committee and filled Dr. Gradwohl’s empty seat on the Executive Committee for Clinical Affairs after his passing.