Awards and Recognition

Academic Women's Caucus Awards

  • Sofia Merajver, MD, PhD, honored with the 2016-2017 Sarah Goddard Power Award, which recognizes individuals who advance the position of women and minorities in faculty and administrative roles.

Association & Foundation Awards

Clinical Excellence Society

The Clinical Excellence Society recognizes those faculty who, by their peers and their division, exude and demonstrate clinical excellence towards their patients and colleagues.

  • Paula Bockenstedt, MD
  • Gregory Kalemkerian, MD
  • Mark Kaminski, MD
  • Christopher Lao, MD, MPH
  • Bruce Redman, DO
  • Anne Schott, MD
  • David Smith, MD
  • Francis Worden, MD
  • Mark Zalupski, MD

For more information about these awards, click here.

Dean's Awards

These awards recognize Medical School faculty and staff who demonstrate exceptional accomplishment in the areas of teaching, research, clinical care, community service, and administration.

  • Mark Zalupski, MD - Dean's Outstanding Clinician Award (2018)
  • Daniel Hayes, MD - Dean's Outstanding Clinician Award (2016)

For more information about these awards, click here.

Department of Internal Medicine Service & Excellence Awards

The Service and Excellence Awards recognize the many contributions and achievements staff have made to the Department of Internal Medicine.

  • Colleen Harvey - Staff Award for Research Excellence (2016)
  • Julie Brabbs - Honorable Mention category for Administrator of the Year (2016)
  • Joann Sherman - Staff Award for Excellence in Administration (2015)

For more information about these awards, click here.

Division of Hematology and Oncology Annual Awards


  • Dana Angelini, MD - Maha Hussain Clinical Research Award
  • Dana Angelini, MD and Paul Swiecicki, MD - Shining Star Award (Fellow’s Award)
  • Erin Cobain, MD and Alexander Pearson, MD, PhD - Mark Roth Award (Fellow’s Award)
  • Albert Quiery, MD - Division Chief’s Award
  • Vaibhav Sahai, MD and Ryan Wilcox MD, PhD - Division Teachers of the Year
  • Muneesh Tewari MD, PhD - Division Research Award

Honorific Society Faculty Electees

American Clinical & Climatological Association (limited to 250 active members)

  • Daniel Hayes, MD
  • Pavan Reddy, MD

American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI)

  • Laurence Baker, DO
  • Ronald Buckanovich, MD, PhD
  • Ivan Maillard, MD, PhD
  • Sami Malek, MD
  • Pavan Reddy, MD
  • Muneesh Tewari, MD, PhD
  • Max Wicha, MD

Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (FASCO)

  • Dean Brenner, MD, FASCO
  • Jennifer Griggs, MD, MPH, FACP, FASCO
  • Daniel Hayes, MD, FASCO*
  • Samuel Silver, MD, PhD, FACP, FAHA, FASCO

*Daniel Hayes, MD, FASCO, assumed his role as President of ASCO for a one-year term beginning June 2016.

League of Clinical and Educational Excellence

League of Clinical Excellence

The League of Clinical Excellence honors faculty members who have distinguished themselves in providing the finest care to the tens of thousands of patients and their families who come to the University of Michigan annually seeking hope and healing.

  • Paula Bockenstedt, MD (2015)
  • Gregory Kalemkerian, MD (2015)

For more information about these awards, click here.

League of Educational Excellence

The League of Educational Excellence honors instructional faculty for their extraordinary contributions to teaching and inspiring the next generation of Michigan physicians and scientists.

  • Dale Bixby, MD, PhD (2015)
  • Francis Worden, MD (2015)

For more information about these awards, click here.

Named Professorships

  • Laurence Baker, DO, Collegiate Professor of Cancer Developmental Therapeutics
  • Dean Brenner, MD, FASCO, Kutsche Memorial Chair of Internal Medicine
  • Ronald Buckanovich, MD, PhD, Thomas H. Simpson Collegiate Professor
  • Daniel Hayes, MD, FASCO, Stuart B. Padnos Professor of Breast Cancer Research
  • Ivan Maillard, MD, PhD, Jeffrey M. Leiden Collegiate Professor of Life Sciences
  • James Rae, PhD, Thomas H. Simpson Collegiate Professor of Cancer Research
  • Pavan Reddy, MD, Frances and Victor Ginsberg Professor of Hematology/Oncology
  • Moshe Talpaz, MD, Alexander J. Trotman Professor of Leukemia Research
  • Muneesh Tewari, MD, PhD, Ray and Ruth Anderson-Laurence M. Sprague Memorial Research Professor
  • Shaomeng Wang, PhD, Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine
  • Max Wicha, MD, Madeline and Sidney Forbes Professor of Oncology

Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program

  • Joel Yates, PhD - Outstanding Research Mentor Award (2016-2017)

For more information about this award, click here.