Leadership and Staff


Chief, Theodore Standiford, MD                                               

U-M Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Theodore Standiford, MD
Theodore J. Standiford, MD
A Message From Our Chief

Dr. Theodore Standiford is the Henry Sewall Professor of Medicine. He received his MD degree from Wayne State University in 1984, completed a residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Minnesota in 1987, and a fellowship in Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine at the University of Michigan in 1991. Since joining the faculty in 1991, Dr. Standiford has secured continuous National Institutes of Health K- or R-series funding. He served as the Program Director of the University of Michigan Specialized Center of Research (SCOR) in Acute Lung Injury and the University of Michigan Specialized Center of Clinically Oriented Research (SCCOR) in Acute Lung Injury. Dr. Standiford currently serves as the Program Director of the NIH/NHLBI T32 Multidisciplinary Training Program in Lung Diseases. 

Dr. Standiford’s research focuses on exploring the role of specific cells, cytokines, antimicrobial peptides, and pathogen recognition receptors in the generation of protective innate immune responses of the lung. The epigenetic regulation of innate immunity in sepsis and acute lung injury is an active area of both animal and human based translational research. In human trials, Dr. Standiford has investigated mechanisms of lung injury in ARDS and the effect of growth factor administration on outcome in ARDS patients and in patients at risk for the development of ARDS. Specialized areas of clinical interest include sepsis, acute lung injury, community-acquired and nosocomial pneumonia, and tuberculosis. 

Dr. Standiford has served as a permanent member of the NIH Lung Biology and Pathology (LBPA) and the Lung Cell and Molecular Immunology (LCMI) Study Sections. He served as a member of the American Lung Association Research Fellowship and Career Investigator Award Committee from 2000-2004, and Chair of this committee from 2004-2009. He is an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) and the Association of American Physicians (AAP). Dr. Standiford currently serves as an external consultant for several NIH T32 training programs and an NIH K24 patient-oriented research-training program.  He has been the primary mentor for many pre- and post-doctoral research fellows, a number of which have gone on to obtain K-series and R-series awards. Dr. Standiford’s bibliography lists over 200 peer-reviewed publications, numerous topic reviews, and book chapters.

Faculty Leadership

Department of Internal Medicine Leadership:

Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Leadership:

U-M Medical School past and present leadership positions have included:

  • Steven Gay, MD, MS, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions 
  • Robert Green, MD, Assistant and Associate Dean for Student Affairs
  • Margaret Gyetko, MD, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
  • Galen Toews, MD, Associate Dean of Research

Division Administrator

U-M Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Carrie Brown
Carrie Brown

Carrie Brown
Division Administrator
Department of Internal Medicine
1500 East Medical Center Drive
3916A Taubman Center, SPC 5360
Ann Arbor MI 48109
Phone: 734-763-5118


Administrative Support

Academic Support

  • Shelley Boa, Business Manager, QGenda Administrator
  • Maria Thomas, Administrative Specialist Associate, Assistant to the Division Chief
  • Maggie Haluska, Administrative Assistant Senior
  • Donna Johns, Administrative Assistant Senior
  • Barrett Leverette, Administrative Assistant Senior, Paging
  • Sara Whisenant, Administrative Assistant Senior
  • Patty Urban, Fellowship Coordinator, QGenda Fellowship Program Administrator

Finance Team

  • Susan Vandersluis, Financial Senior Manager
  • Kristin Poole, Pre-Award Grants Specialist
  • Mary Jo LaPointe, Administrative Specialist Intermediate
  • Linda Luevano, Financial Specialist Associate

VA Support

  • Melina White, Assistant to the VA Service Chief

Internal Medicine Support (for Cyril Grum)

  • Kelly Wallace

Advanced Practice Providers

  • Lisa Anderson, MS, RN, AGACNP
  • Christie Carlson, MS, RN, AGACNP-BC
  • Brooke Christofferson, MSN, ACNP-BC
  • Heather Collins, MS, PA-C
  • Julie Hanley, MSN, GNP-C, RN
  • Alison Heinle, MSN, ACNP-BC
  • Jessica Nelson, MS, RN, AGACNP-BC
  • Laura Roaden, RN, MSN, ACNP-BC
  • Vikas Sood, MSN, NP-C
  • Denyse Stepka, MSN, ANP-BC
  • Daniel Wingard, MS, PA

Clinical Research and Health Staff

  • Emily Brown, MA
  • Candace Flaherty, BA, CCRP
  • Christi Getty, RRT
  • Katie Gootee, MA
  • Katie Hall, LMSW
  • Mary Kay Hamby
  • Amando Kurili, RRT
  • Cheryl Majors, RN
  • Kristine Nelson
  • Eeyeen Ong, MS, RD
  • Kelly Rysso, BS
  • Fox Sara, CPhT
  • Teresa Wackus, MA


  • Gloria Barends, RN
  • Barbara Carpenter, BSN, RN
  • Charles Church, RN
  • Veronica Downer, RN
  • Lori Flint, BSN, RN
  • Karri Looker, RN
  • Catherine Meldrum, PhD, MS, RN CCRC
  • Kimberly Rochefort, RN, BSN
  • Connie Secco, RN


For a listing of our faculty, please click here.