Jon Musai

Undergraduate student, Jon Musai, receives the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts Underwood-Alger Scholarship. 

UROP 2020 Blue Ribbon Award

Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program (UROP) students, Tyson Moore and Jon Musai, were honored with the Blue Ribbon Award, given to students for having an exemplary capstone research poster and presentation. Read more.

Half of Lupus Rashes Harbor High Levels of Bacteria Responsible for Infections

The Kahlenberg Lab found that 50% of skin rashes in patients with lupus contained an abnormally high presence of staph. Read more.

Lupus Research Alliance Novel Research Grants Awarded

J. Michelle Kahlenberg, MD, PhD is awarded a Lupus Research Alliance grant to study changes that occur in the skin when patients with lupus are exposed to ultraviolet light. Read more.

Recipients of the 2019 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers Announced

Dr. J. Michelle Kahlenberg receives the PECASE, the nation’s highest honor bestowed to early career researchers. Read more.

Exploring New Treatments for Autoimmune Diseases

A new grant will allow Michigan Medicine researchers to explore personalized approaches to treating autoimmune diseases such as scleroderma, lupus, rheumatoid arthritis, and others. Read more.

Why Women Get Autoimmune Diseases Far More Often Than Men

Researchers cause a lupus-like disease in mice by amplifying the amount of a single “master regulator” factor - suggesting both a root cause for known differences between the sexes and a target for new treatments. Read more.

Skin’s Immune ‘Alarm’ May Explain Light-Induced Rashes in Lupus Patients

U-M researchers are studying an overabundant signaling protein tied to UV light sensitivity in patients with lupus. Read more.

Lupus Foundation of America Logo

Dr. J. Michelle Kahlenberg receives the Lupus Foundation of America Mary Betty Stevens Young Investigator Prize. Read more.

Dr. J. Michelle Kahlenberg Named Edmund L. Dubois Memorial Lecturer

Dr. J. Michelle Kahlenberg named the Edmund L. Dubois Memorial Lecturer by the Rheumatology Research Foundation. Read more.