May 24, 2017

Celebrating 2017 Microbiology & Immunology Faculty Promotions!

We are very happy to announce the following faculty promotions which will be effective September 1, 2017.

Dr. Mary XD O’Riordan, PhD, is promoted to Professor with Tenure. Dr. O’Riordan has developed and maintained an NIH-funded and internationally respected research program and has established herself as a leading investigator in the field of innate immune recognition of microbial pathogens and in defining how host cell physiology influences intracellular parasitism. Dr. O’Riordan also serves as the UM Medical School Associate Dean for Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, and in February of this year, she was named the inaugural Frederick Neidhardt Collegiate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology.

Dr. Patrick D Schloss, PhD, is promoted to Professor with Tenure. Dr. Schloss has built a strong research program into the investigation of the role of the microbiome in health and disease, and he has contributed both seminal findings and key analytical tools, making him a foremost expert and leader in his chosen field. To date, his work has been cited in the literature over 14,000 times, demonstrating his enormous influence and stature in the field of microbiome research. Dr. Schloss has also recently been named the Frederick G Novy Collegiate Professor of Microbiome Research.

Dr. Philip E Lapinski, PhD, is promoted to Assistant Research Scientist. Dr. Lapinski is an immunologist whose research centers on receptor signaling in a variety of biological systems, including the lymphatic and blood vascular, skeletal, and innate and adaptive immune systems. He has performed groundbreaking, essential work in developing and utilizing transgenic mouse models to study the role of regulatory proteins of the Ras signaling pathway. He has thus become an authority on the use of murine genetic models to address the roles of signaling proteins in immunity and development, and this work has been internationally recognized and has appeared in prominent, peer-reviewed journals.

We are also delighted to announce the promotion of the following joint faculty members.

Suzanne R Dawid, MD, PhD, is promoted to Associate Professor, with Tenure, in the Department of Pediatrics and Infectious Diseases and to Associate Professor, without Tenure, in the Department of Microbiology & Immunology.

Gary D Luker, MD, is promoted to Professor, with Tenure, in the Department of Radiology and to Professor, without Tenure, in the Department of Microbiology & Immunology.

Congratulations to all! We wish each of you continued success!