May 6, 2019

Teaching and Research Staff Awards

Maria Sandkvist and Stephanie Himpsl win Endowment for the Basic Science Awards

The Department of Microbiology and Immunology is delighted to report that Maria Sandkvist has received the  Endowment for the Basic Sciences Teaching Award. This award is given in recognition of excellence in classroom teaching, mentoring, and leadership in the advancement of the teaching mission, and includes a monetary prize. Dr. Sandkvist routinely receives excellent student evaluations, and she is clearly highly valued by students as an instructor and mentor.

We are also pleased to announce that Stephanie Himpsl from the Harry Mobley Lab has been selected to receive an Endowment for the Basic Sciences Research Staff Award. This inaugural award is given in recognition of outstanding research productivity and innovation over the past year, and includes a monetary salary supplement. Ms. Himpsl moved with Dr. Mobley from University of Maryland School of Medicine 15 years ago, and she organized the move of the Mobley Lab and reorganized it here at UM into a functional lab. In addition to her lab manager duties, Stephanie is an outstanding scientist, serving as co-author on 16 papers including two as first author and three as co-first author. She has also been contributing author or presenting author on 22 national meeting abstracts.

She and Dr. Sandkvist will be recognized at the EBS Award Luncheon on Monday May 20th.

Congratulations to both Stephanie and Maria on this well-deserved Medical School-wide recognition!