The Brockman Lectureship

William Warner Brockman


Professor William Brockman received his B.S. degree with distinction from Cornell University, Ithaca, in 1964, and his M.D. degree from Cornell University Medical College, New York, in 1968.

In 1970, following an Internship and Residency at the Baltimore City Hospital and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Professor Brockman began his postdoctoral research training on RNA tumor viruses in the laboratory of Dr. William A. Carter at Johns Hopkins University. In 1972, he broadened the scope of his training to include the DNA viruses by joining the laboratory of Dr. Daniel Nathans at the same institution. This training was followed by two additional years of research in the laboratory of Dr. Robert Martin at the National Institute of Health.

Professor Brockman joined our faculty as Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Immunology in 1976, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 1980. Professor Brockman's research interests centered upon the viral genes that are required for malignant transformation of mammalian cells. Professor Brockman's work appeared in the major virology journals, he was the author of several influential review articles, and he was a regular contributor to international workshops and symposia on the molecular biology of animal viruses. His leadership role in this important area of contemporary biomedical research led to his service as a site visitor for the Special Program Advisory Committee of the National Cancer Institute, and as a member of the Experimental Virology Study Section for the National Cancer Institute. Professor Brockman's work had been supported continuously for the past eight years by the National Cancer Institute and he had just received funding for another three years at the time of his death.

Professor Brockman's course on the "Molecular Biology of Animal Viruses" was a major strength in the curriculum of the Microbiology and Immunology program. He also played a key role in the training of graduate students for the interdepartmental program in Cellular and Molecular Biology. His deep commitment to his science and his students was an inspiration to faculty and students alike.

Professor Brockman began spending his summers on farms in 1954 and throughout his years at Michigan farmed his land near Dexter. He also was a certified soil scientist and an active participant in community affairs.

Faculty, students, and friends will long remember Professor Brockman for his dedication to science, teaching, farming, and the community.

Brockman Memorial Lectures

1984 – 1985
Daniel Nathans, Johns Hopkins
Thomas J. Kelly, Jr., Johns Hopkins
William R. Folk, University of Texas, Austin
Robert G. Martin, Johns Hopkins
Mary Woodworth, Roswell Park Memorial Institute

1985 – 1986
Kenneth I. Burns, Cornell University

1987 – 1988
Robert E. Pollack, Columbia University

1988 – 1989
Arnold J. Levine, Princeton University

1989 – 1990
David M. Livingston, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

1990 – 1991
Carol L. Prives, Columbia University

1991 – 1992
Joan S. Brugge, University of Pennsylvania

1992 – 1993
James L. Manley, Columbia University

1993 – 1994
James M. Pipas, University of Pittsburgh

1994 – 1995: 10-year Memorial
Thomas J. Kelly, Jr., Johns Hopkins
William R. Folk, University of Missouri, Columbia
Arnold J. Berk, University of California, Los Angeles
Ed Harlow, Massachusetts General Hospital

1995 – 1996
Elliot Kieff, Harvard University

1996 – 1997
Thomas E. Shenk, Princeton University

1997 – 1998
Bill Sugden, University of Wisconsin – Madison

1998 – 1999
Peter Howley, Harvard University

1999 – 2000
Patricia Spear, Northwestern University

2000 – 2001
Peter S. Kim, MIT

2001 – 2002
Thomas J. Kelly, Jr., Johns Hopkins

2002 – 2003
Janet S. Butel, Baylor College of Medicine

2003 – 2004
Inder Verma, Salk Institute

2004 – 2005
Stephen Goff, Columbia University

2006 – 2007
Charles Rice, Rockefeller University

2007 – 2008
Thomas L. Benjamin, Harvard University

2008 – 2009
Karla Kirkegaard, Stanford University

2009 – 2010: 25th Memorial
Hung Fan, University of California, Irvine
Dr. Paul Lambert, University of Wisconsin
Dr. Stan Lemon, University of Texas Medical Branch
Dr. Jim Pipas, University of Pittsburgh

2010 – 2011
Peter Palese, Mount Sinai School of Medicine

2011 – 2012
Lynn W. Enquist, Princeton University

2012 – 2013
Paul Ahlquist, University of Wisconsin – Madison

2013 – 2014
Stuart Nichol, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

2014 – 2015
Laimonis A. Laimins, Northwestern University

2015 – 2016
Julie Overbaugh, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

2016 – 2017
Roz Sandri-Goldin, University of California, Irvine

2017 – 2018
Herbert W. ‘Skip’ Virgin, IV, Washington University at St. Louis

2018 – 2019
Douglas Lowy, National Cancer Institute

2019 – 2020
Mary Estes, Baylor University (Postponed due to COVID-19)

2021 – 2022
Mary Estes, Baylor University

2022 – 2023
Beatrice Hahn, University of Pennsylvania

2023 – 2024
Pei-Yong Shi, University of Texas Medical Branch