Dr. Eva Feldman headshot 2020

Eva Feldman, MD, PhD

Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology
Director, NeuroNetwork for Emerging Therapies
Director, ALS Center of Excellence

Eva L. Feldman, M.D., Ph.D., is the Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology at the University of Michigan. A renowned neurologist and neuroscientist, she has devoted her career to understanding neurological disorders and developing new treatments. Dr. Feldman earned her medical and doctoral degrees at U-M and completed neurology training at Johns Hopkins Hospital. She joined the Michigan Medicine faculty in 1988.

read more

With over 30 years of continuous funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Dr. Feldman has pioneered studies on neurological disorders in metabolic diseases. Her work identified dyslipidemia during obesity and diabetes as a driver of brain and nerve damage in children and adults, influencing new patient care guidelines. She currently leads three multi-institutional NIH grants aimed at understanding how lipids cause nervous system injury. At Michigan Medicine, she directs a research program of 30 scientists.

A principal investigator on the first two FDA-approved stem cell transplant clinical trials for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Dr. Feldman is now funded by the NIH to move this therapy forward for Alzheimer’s disease. She is also supported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for her groundbreaking work on identifying environmental pollutants as a contributing cause of ALS.

Dr. Feldman was the inaugural director of the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute at U-M. She served as president of the American Neurological Association from 2011-13, the third woman to hold this position in 130 years. In 2020, she will chair the neurology and psychiatry membership section of the National Academy of Medicine. She has received lifetime achievement awards from the American Diabetes Association, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Endocrine Society, and Society for Neuroscience. In 2016, Dr. Feldman was honored as the National Physician of the Year for Clinical Excellence by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., and has been named by her peers as one of the Best Doctors in America for 15 consecutive years.



  • BA, Biology and Chemistry, Earlham College, 73
  • MS, Zoology, University of Notre Dame, 75
  • PhD, Neuroscience, University of Michigan, 79
  • MD, Medicine, University of Michigan, 83
  • Residency, Neurology, Johns Hopkins Hospital, 87
  • Chief Resident, Neurology, Johns Hopkins Hospital, 86-87
  • Fellowship, EMG/Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, University of Michigan Health System, 88

Select Awards & Honors

  • The Johns Hopkins Hospital Annual Resident Award for Outstanding Medical Student Teaching
  • The Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Jane Cobb Promise Award for Medical Research, 00
  • Michigan Medicine Alumni Society Early Career Distinguished Achievement Award, 01
  • Castle Connolly Top Doctors in America, The Best Doctors in America, Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare, Who’s Who of American Women, 2002 to present (annually) 
  • Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Mary Jane Kugel Award, 03 & 05
  • American Diabetes Association Lifetime Achievement Award, 06
  • America’s Top Doctors, 2007 to present (annually) 
  • Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, 10
  • University of Michigan League of Research Excellence, 11
  • University of Michigan Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, 12
  • National Academy of Medicine, 14
  • Castle Connolly National Physician of the Year Award for Clinical Excellence, 16
  • Crain’s Detroit Business 100 Most Influential Women in Michigan, 16
  • Society for Neuroscience Bernice Grafstein Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Mentoring, 16
  • Endocrine Society Gerald D. Aurbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research, 17
  • Esteemed Women of Michigan Recipient, 17
  • American Neurological Association Honorary Fellow, 18
  • Marquis Who’s Who in the World Lifetime Award, 18
  • American Neurological Association's 2021 Raymond D. Adams Lectureship Award, 21
  • Peripheral Nerve Society Alan J. Gebhart Prize for Excellence in Peripheral Nerve Research, 19
  • Michigan Medicine Alumni Society Distinguished Achievement Award, 19
  • Castle Connolly Exceptional Women in Medicine Award, 20
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows, 20
  • American Neurological Association's 2021 Raymond D. Adams Lectureship Award, 21