December 18, 2018

MICHR honors distinguished mentor from Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Seven Clinical and Translational Research Mentors Recognized for Outstanding Support of Students and Fellows

Seven University of Michigan faculty members were recently honored with the 2018 Distinguished Mentor Award, which recognizes the efforts of faculty members who demonstrate consistent, high quality mentoring in areas of clinical and translational health research.
Out of a competitive field of remarkable and generous research leaders who contribute enormously to the research environment at U-M, the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR) selected seven people who meet the highest standards for clinical and translational research mentorship. These standards include a demonstrated commitment to fostering the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of their mentees.
The pool of nominees represented a diverse group of U-M schools: Dentistry, Engineering, Institute for Social Research, Literature, Science & the Arts, Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health. Vicki L. Ellingrod, PharmD, FCCP presented the awards at the 2018 Mentoring Forum Dr. Ellingrod is Associate Director of MICHR, Faculty Lead for the Education & Mentoring Group, and 2012 MICHR Mentor Awardee; Associate Dean for Research and John Gideon Searle Professor of Clinical and Translational Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy; Professor of Psychiatry, Medical School; and Adjunct Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Literature, Science & the Arts.

The nomination deadline for the 2019 MICHR Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award is March 4, 2019. Find out more and learn how to submit a nomination here:

Recipients of the 2018 MICHR Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award

Brian T. Denton, PhD, Chair and Professor of Industrial and Operations Engineering, College of Engineering; Professor of Urology, Medical School; and Member of the Cancer Center, Medical School Justin B. Dimick, MD, MPH, George D. Zuidema Professor of Surgery, Medical School; Professor of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health; Director, Center for Healthcare Outcomes and Policy; and Chief, Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery
Margherita Fontana, DDS, PhD, Professor of Cariology, Restorative Sciences and Endodontics, School of Dentistry
Michele Heisler, MD, MPA, Professor of Internal Medicine, Medical School; Professor of Health Behavior and Health Education, School of Public Health; Research Scientist, Ann Arbor VA's Center for Clinical Management Research; Co-Director, the U-M National Clinician Scholars Program; Associate Director, Global REACH program, Medical School; and Director, the Michigan Center for Diabetes Translational Research’s Peer Support Core
Celina G. Kleer, MD, Harold Oberman Collegiate Professor of Pathology, Medical School
Malcolm J. Low, MD, PhD, David F. Bohr Collegiate Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Medical School
Nicholas W. Lukacs, PhD, Godfrey D. Stobbe Professor of Pathology, Medical School