Wednesday, October 13, 2021

Grand Rounds

11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
CME credit available, click here
Attendance must be registered within 6 months to be awarded credit.
Recorded archives of live activities are considered enduring materials. Viewing of a recorded session is for reference only, no CME credit can be claimed.

Virtual event

Zoom ID: 983 3802 4406 Passcode: NeuroGR

“Early Treatment of MS: Can MS Be Prevented?”

Erin Longbrake, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Neurology; Director, Fellowship Program, Multiple Sclerosis & Other Inflammatory Brain Disease

Erin Longbrake, MD, PhD, is an assistant professor of neurology at Yale University. Dr. Longbrake earned her MD and PhD degrees at the Ohio State University, then completed her neurology residency at Washington University in St. Louis. After completion of her residency, she was awarded a prestigious Sylvia Lawry fellowship in neuroimmunology by the National MS Society, which she completed at Washington University. Dr. Longbrake joined the faculty of Yale University in 2016. At Yale, she directs the clinical and translational research program in MS as well as the neuroimmunology fellowship program.  She is a leader in MS/Neuroimmunology education, and has led efforts to standardize US-based training and develop a core curriculum for the subspecialty. Dr. Longbrake’s scientific interests center around the clinical heterogeneity that is often observed among patients with MS and on elucidating the immunologic changes that precede the development of clinical disease.

She is PI for a large, investigator-initiated clinical trial of short-term B-cell depletion in patients with radiologically isolated syndrome. Additional areas of interest include evaluation of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on patients with neuroimmune diseases and exploration of the role of the microbiome in multiple sclerosis. Dr. Longbrake is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society and has received multiple career development awards, including being named a Scialog fellow, YCCI scholar and Janeway Society member. She has been supported by NIH grants since 2019.