July 12, 2022

American Neurological Association Announces Winners of 2022 Awards for Outstanding Accomplishments in Academic Neurology and Neuroscience

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Basic Science--Awarded to: Sami Barmada, MD, Ph.D., University of Michigan. Presentation Title: “Therapeutic Implications of Convergent Disease Mechanisms in ALS and FTD”

The Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize, established in 2009 by Mr. Winston Wolfe and the ANA, honors outstanding investigators who identify a new cause or novel treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy. Awarded to: Stephanie Eid, Ph.D., University of Michigan. Presentation Title: “Schwann Cells in Diabetic Neuropathy: Drivers of Disease or Just the Passengers?”