January 15, 2014

U-M Orthopaedic Teams Receive National Awards for Work on Sports and Orthopaedic Injuries

MedSport experts receive 2014 Cabaud, Neer and O'Donoghue awards for excellence in basic science research, translational & impactful research

Teams of orthopaedic researchers and physicians at the University of Michigan’s sports medicine clinic have received some of the most prestigious national awards in the field. Each year, the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) and the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons (ASES) recognize experts who have made significant contributions to orthopaedics through the presentation of the Cabaud, Neer and O’Donoghue awards. This year, orthopaedic faculty members James Carpenter, M.D.; Bruce Miller, M.D., M.S.; Asheesh Bedi, M.D. and Christopher L. Mendias, Ph.D., A.T.C, Edward Wojtys, M.D. and James Ashton-Miller Ph.D. along with their respective research teams, have been named among the 2014 recipients of the highly-touted awards. Bedi and Mendias received the 2014 Charles S. Neer Award for Basic Science Research from the ASES, which is among  the most prestigious awards in shoulder surgery that recognizes translational and impactful research that may improve patient care and outcomes. The Neer award stems from the work Bedi and Mendias have done not only on improving the reliability of tendon-to-bone healing after a rotator cuff repair, but also the recovery of muscles and treatment of muscle atrophy which can limit function.  Both of these issues have been a significant concern and limitation in the quality of patient outcomes despite considerable technical advances in the ability to do surgery using minimally invasive, “arthroscopic” techniques. This is Bedi’s second, and the department’s third Neer award. “We hope that our work will be the basis for a new, biologically-based approach to musculoskeletal surgery that will improve healing and the success of our very common surgical interventions for soft tissue injuries of the shoulder, knee, and hip in the active and athletic population,” Bedi says. Bedi, Melanie Beaulieu (a doctoral student in U-M Kinesiology) and the Biomechanics Laboratory Research Team at U-M also received the 2014 Cabaud Award for Excellence in Basic Science Research from AOSSM under the direction of Edward Wojtys, M.D. and James Ashton-Miller, Ph.D.  This annual award, which Wojtys and Ashton-Miller have received in previous years, is among the most prestigious honors recognizing meaningful and impactful translational research for injury outcomes among athletes. This year, the U-M team was selected for the Cabaud Award for work focusing on the kinetic chain of the lower extremity and recognizing how restrictions in hip range of motion secondary to impingement may increase the risk of anterior cruciate ligament injury to the knee.  The work has significant implications for both prevention and management of athletes with these injuries. Miller and Carpenter are part of a multicenter group that was recognized with this year’s O’Donoghue Award from the AOSSM for work on revision anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) surgery.  This annual award is given to the best clinical research study in the field of orthopaedic sports medicine. “These awards demonstrate that our department’s work is held in high regard by our peers in sports medicine and shoulder surgery,” says James Carpenter, M.D., chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the U-M Medical School. “They add to an exceptional record of research awards received by Orthopaedic Sports Medicine at Michigan over the past 10 years from the leading organizations in our specialty. “ The Cabaud and O’Donoghue Awards are U-M Sports Medicine’s twelfth and thirteenth awards for research from the AOSSM. “This is an unprecedented record of sustained success and recognition in our field. I am proud of the great work our faculty is doing and I believe that we will continue to have a significant impact in sports medicine and shoulder surgery for years to come,” Carpenter says.