June 29, 2022

2022 Charles J. Lectureship and Residency Graduation

The 22nd Charles J. Krause Lectureship was held on June 17. This year’s guest lecturer, Sam P. Most, M.D., chief, Division of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at Stanford University School of Medicine, presented on precision medicine and applications to facial plastic surgery.

Dr. Sam Most standing at a lectern with his presentation slide up on the projection screen that says "Precision medicine: applications to facial plastic surgery"
Guest lecturer, Sam P. Most, M.D.

Additionally, current and graduating residents presented findings from their research projects, covering a wide range of topics and sub-specialties. Awards were given to the following residents for outstanding research:

  • Susan Ellsperman, M.D., Paparella Otologic Research Award 
  • Madison Epperson, M.D., Resident Committee Research Grant
  • Sarah Dermody, M.D., John L. Kemink, M.D. Clinical Research Award
  • Molly Heft Neal, M.D., Rontal Family Resident Education Award and Merle Lawrence Basic Science Research Award

Recipients receive monetary awards to support further research efforts. Funds are generously supported by donor gifts to foster meaningful and substantive clinical and/or basic science research.

2022 Residency Graduation

The day was capped with the department's first in-person graduation ceremony since 2019 for our four graduating residents. The ceremony and dinner were held in the Michigan League Ballroom with families, current residents, colleagues and faculty coming together to celebrate this year’s residency class.

During the ceremony, the graduating residents presented Christopher Welch, M.D. and Steven Chinn, M.D. with the Frank N. Ritter, M.D. Teaching Award, and Jennifer Kim, M.D. and Matthew Spector, M.D. with the Faculty Mentorship award. 

Graduating residents will be moving on to fellowships in the following sub-specialties:

  • Dr. Susan Ellsperman, neurotology, House Institute
  • Dr. Janice Farlow, head & neck, Ohio State University
  • Dr. Molly Heft Neal, head & neck, Washington University
  • Dr. Johnny (Yanjun) Xie, facial plastics & reconstructive surgery, The Williams Center

 Congratulations and best of luck to all our 2022 graduates!