Lori L. Isom, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Maurice H. Seevers Collegiate Professor of Pharmacology
Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Professor of Neurology

Office: 2301E MSRB III

Lab: 2200 MSRB III

Office: 734-936-3050 Lab: 734-936-3043

Areas of Interest

Molecular basis of electrical excitability

  • Structure and function of voltage-gated sodium channels in nerve and heart
  • Pathophysiological functions of human gene variants in epilepsy, cardiac arrhythmia, and SUDEP
  • Transgenic mouse and rabbit models of human channelopathies
  • Patient-specific human induced pluripotent stem cell neurons and cardiac myocytes to study epilepsy and cardiac arrhythmia

Honors & Awards

National and Institutional

  • Elected, National Academy of Medicine, 2021
  • Elected, Fellow of the American Epilepsy Society, 2019
  • Elected, American Epilepsy Society Board of Directors, 2018
  • NIH-NINDS Javits Merit Award, 2017
  • 2016 Theodore M. Brody Distinguished Lecturer, Michigan State University Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, 2016
  • Elected, University of MI Medical School Executive Committee, 2016
  • Maurice H. Seevers Collegiate Professorship in Pharmacology, 2015
  • Elected to the University of Michigan Medical School Academy for Educational Excellence and Scholarship, 2013
  • University of Michigan Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award, 2013
  • Elected AAAS Fellow (Neuroscience and Graduate Education), 2011
  • University of Michigan Council for Disability Concerns' Certificate of Appreciation, 2011
  • University of Michigan Rackham Faculty Allies Diversity Grant to promote greater graduate student diversity through PIBS, 2010-2012
  • University of Michigan Distinguished Faculty Award, 2009
  • Distinguished Alumni Lecturer, University of Washington Department of Pharmacology, 2009
  • Elected chair, 2009 FASEB Ion Channel Regulation Conference, 2007
  • AAMC Mid-Career Women Faculty Seminar, selected participant, 2007
  • Ralph C. Wilson Jr. Medical Research Grant Program Award, 2004
  • AAMC Mid-Career Women Faculty Professional Development Seminar, selected participant, 2003
  • American Heart Association Established Investigator Award, 2001
  • Recipient of Distinguished Faculty and Graduate Student Seminar grant to conduct a symposium on voltage-gated ion channels ($7,500), 2000
  • Roche Bioscience Award for outstanding poster presentation, Advances in Ion Channel Research Meeting, San Francisco, 1999
  • Finalist, Burroughs-Wellcome Fund New Investigator Award in the Pharmacological Sciences, 1996
  • Johnson and Johnson Focused Giving Fellowship, 1996-1999
  • Fellowship, Keck Center for Neurosignaling, University of Washington, 1992-1993
  • National Research Service Award Trainee (T32 NSO7332-02), 1991-1992
  • Individual National Research Service Award (5 F32 NSO8560), 1989-1991
  • Pharmaceutical Manufacturer's Association Advanced Predoctoral Fellowship, 1985
  • National Research Service Award to Attend Vanderbilt University, 1983



PhD, Pharmacology, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, 1987
AB, Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri, 1982

Post-Doctoral Training

Postdoctoral Fellow, Pharmacology, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, 1993

Published Articles or Reviews

Web Sites