May 22, 2020

Congratulations to Dr. Les Satin!

Dr. Les Satin was appointed as the inaugural Joanne I. Moore Research Professor of Pharmacology, with an effective date of May 1, 2020.

Dr. Joanne I. Moore earned her Ph.D. in Pharmacology from the University of Michigan Medical School in 1959. For a quarter century, she served as chair of the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, one of the first women to hold such a position at an American medical school. This new professorship will recognize and honor Dr. Moore's lifelong commitment to teaching pharmacology to medical, dental, pharmacy, nursing and allied health students, as well as to medical residents and postdoctoral fellows. Her translational research program focused on the pharmacological treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease and cancer. Her tireless mentoring of countless, now prominent, pharmacologists instilled in them a life-long love of learning and service.