February 1, 2023

Congratulations to Dr. John Traynor

Dr John Traynor is one of 17 U-M faculty members named 2022 AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science elected 17 University of Michigan faculty and staff members as 2022 Fellows.

AAAS, which is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals, announced that 506 scientists, engineers and innovators have been chosen for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements.

“AAAS is proud to elevate these standout individuals and recognize the many ways in which they’ve advanced scientific excellence, tackled complex societal challenges and pushed boundaries that will reap benefits for years to come,” said Sudip Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

John Traynor, the Edward F. Domino Research Professor of Pharmacology and professor of medicinal chemistry, for outstanding contributions to understanding opiate receptor structure and function, opiate pharmacology and drug discovery, and mechanism of drug addiction, and for his exceptional administration in academe and professional societies.