Joyce Ho

ABCD Study Team

What is your name? Where were you born? Where did you go to college? What was your major?

Hi! I'm Joyce, and I was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan. I also went to college at the University of Michigan. I graduated in 2022 with a double major in Biopsychology, Cognition, & Neuroscience and Gender & Health. 

What interests you about the ABCD Study/research?

In college, I was always really interested in developmental psychology. I had worked with younger children (5-12 year olds) in research labs and at U-M's Natural History Museum. However, I've always been most interested in neurocognitive development with adolescents. With the ABCD study, I'm able to work closely with adolescents in that exact focus. 


How long have you worked in the department and what does your work focus on / what area do you work in?

I recently joined the ABCD study team in 2022, and I primarily work in administering the yearly follow-up studies with our adolescent participants. It's really cool to contribute to so many dimensions of data collection. 

What are your plans after ABCD (grad school, etc.)?

I am currently a master's student at the U-M School of Social Work, with a pathway in interpersonal practice. I hope to earn my professional license and become a LMSW. This would allow me to practice therapy in a variety of clinical settings, but most hopefully with transitional age youth.

Fun fact about yourself! What are your hobbies?

My fun fact is that I love going to concerts and I've been to about ten concerts in 2022! Hobbies other than spending all my money on concert tickets and artist merch include cooking, reading, and making elaborately specific Spotify playlists.

Do you have any pets?

I don't have any pets but I really want a cat once I graduate!

What’s your favorite food or restaurant?

One of my favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor is Lan City Noodles-- partly due to the convenience of location, and mostly for their Chili Oil Noodles :) I also love Chelas on Maple Rd!