Maria Dziubinski

ABCD Study Team

What is your name? Where were you born? Where did you go to college?

My name is Maria Dziubinski, and I am born and raised in Ann Arbor, MI. I am a product of the wonderful Ann Arbor Public Schools. I currently live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I went to Washtenaw Community College and transferred to University of Michigan after a year, where I earned my degree in Biopsychology, Cognitive, Neuroscience (BCN). After I graduated, I worked in a medical office as a receptionist before getting into research!

What interests you about the ABCD Study/research?

I have always loved working with children, so when I saw a study that was on child development I had to apply! I used to work as a Registered Behavior Technician, and there I discovered how amazing and important childhood development was. The ABCD Study is one of a kind, ever day we are learning something new, so it is awesome to be a part of that.

How long have you worked in the department and what does your work focus on / what area do you work in?

I have been working in the Psychiatry Department since November 2020. I started as a part time research assistant working with participants, administering surveys, neurocognitive tasks, and collecting biological samples. As time has gone on, I have transitioned into more into working with parents, increasing participant engagement, blood draws, and Fitbit upkeep!

What are your plans after ABCD (grad school, etc.)

My next goal is to attend grad school and earn my MBA in Healthcare Management. I am really interested in the business side of healthcare, things like sharing expertise, giving advice, and guiding healthcare organizations to make business decisions that promote growth and benefit their customers and patients.

Fun fact about yourself! What are your hobbies?

A fun fact about myself is that I graduated high school a year early! My school offered trimesters, so I was able to graduate early! Some of my hobbies include traveling with my friends, spending time with family and hiking whenever possible! I love anything involving the outdoors, especially hiking and skiing!

Do you have any pets?

Yes! I have a cat that lives with my mom in Belleville, Michigan. Her name is Pebbles, and she is such a fluffy princess!

What’s your favorite food or restaurant?

I am a HUGE foodie. I love trying new places and have a few favorites. My favorite NEW restaurant is Bellflower in Ypsilanti! I just tried this in March 2022 with my mom and it was fabulous. Everything was cooked perfectly and with love. One of my all-time favorite places in Ann Arbor is Knights. They’ve been around a long time and being born and raised here I have many memories of enjoying their food surrounded with laughter and smiles.