2021 HOPE and JOY Award Winners & Finalists

Celebrating all the nominees, finalists and winners!

The Evan Newport HOPE and JOY Awards were established to formally recognize the ongoing patient and family centered care practices and initiatives that are happening each day within Michigan Medicine. 

The HOPE Award was developed and designed by Scott Newport and his son Noah - inspired by those who allowed Evan, Scott’s son, to have a happy childhood while he was a patient at C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital. Not only does Evan’s legacy live on at Mott, but his award has given us the opportunity to acknowledge those who work hand-in-hand with patients and families across the entire health system. For more about Scott, Evan, and Noah, please read their story here(link is external). The Evan Newport JOY Award and Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor awards honor volunteer patient and family advisors who have gone above and beyond to promote and advance patient and family centered care principles throughout Michigan Medicine. 

Please join us in congratulating the 2021 Finalists and Winners for the Evan Newport HOPE and Joy Award. Click here to view the full video of the awards ceremony.


Adult Individuals

  • Grace Jenq, MD
  • Cyndi Law, RN
  • Laura Simon
  • Janelle Stewart

Adult Teams

  • University Hospital - Unit 8B
  • Crossing the Chasm to Adult Care: A Patient Experience Research Journey Team
  • Patient Property and Lost & Found Team
  • Primary Care Panel Management Team (UMMG)

Children’s, Women’s, and Psychiatry Services Individuals

  • Emily Bair, Registered Dietitian
  • Martha Carlson, MD, PhD
  • Taylor Hesano, RN
  • Sarah Santiago, MD

Children’s, Women’s, and Psychiatry Services Teams

  • 7 East
  • Children's Emergency
  • Sophie's Place (Music Therapy)
  • Single Ventricle Interstage Home Monitoring Program

Joy Award Finalists

  • Tiffani Stokley
  • Colleen Schomaker
  • Michele Mitchell
  • Kasey Hilton
  • Kaitlin Barrett-Huff
  • Brennan Cheladyn
  • Robyn Bishop

Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award Finalists

  • Steve Mohler
  • Aurora Garza Ramos Rodriquez
  • Carol Bogan
  • Gal Godish
  • John Birko
  • William and Tracy Hall