Moses Gunn Research Conference

The Moses Gunn Research Conference is an annual conference held by the Michigan Medicine Department of Surgery to showcase the cutting-edge research being conducted throughout the department.

Dr. Ton Wang presenting at Moses Gunn 2019
Moses Gunn Conference at North Campus Research Complex
Moses Gunn Conference Posters

Abstract Submissions

Submissions must be from the Department of Surgery, which includes the Sections of General Surgery, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Pediatric Surgery, Plastic Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, Transplant Surgery, Vascular Surgery and the Division of Anatomical Sciences. All submissions for review will be considered for oral presentation or poster display.

Please submit abstracts to

Guidelines & Requirements

  • Format: Microsoft Word
  • Margins: 1 inch
  • Font: Arial, Helvetica, Palatino Linotype or Georgia
  • Title: Font Size 14, Bold, Centered (Do Not Use All Caps)
  • Authors: Font Size 11, Centered
    • First initial(s) Last Name, Degree (w/o periods), separated by a semi-colon
  • Body: Font Size 12, Block Style, Right and Left Justified
    • Do not indent paragraphs
    • No tabs needed (except for tables/graphics)
  • Organization: The information within the body should contain the following:
    • Objective: statement of purpose of the study, unless stated in the title
    • Methods: description of methods, if pertinent
    • Results: summarizing in sufficient detail to support the conclusion(s)
    • Conclusion: It is not satisfactory to state the results will be discussed
    • Each abstract is limited to one page, including graphs & figures.
    • Example Abstract
  • Notification of Results: Bottom of the page: Name, Section, University address & box number, unique name, University telephone & pager of person to notify and credit in the booklet. Also list faculty mentor (if appropriate) as shown in example.
  • Number of Abstracts: Each individual is permitted to submit 3 distinct abstracts.


Awards are given to highlight exceptional medical student, resident, and fellow researchers who have produced exceptional research accomplishments throughout the year. Recipients of the awards will give a presentation at the Moses Gunn Research Conference to demonstrate their work. A nomination packet needs to be submitted for trainees to be considered for these awards.

  • James W. Crudup Award: Presented annually to the Chief Resident who has demonstrated the most outstanding accomplishments in research during residency training.
  • Young Investigator Award: Presented to a Department of Surgery Fellow or Resident who has demonstrated originality and scientific merit in research.
  • Student Research Award: Presented to a Graduate Student or Medical Student who has demonstrated originality and scientific merit in research.

Please email nomination packets as an attachment to

Nomination Packet Requirements

  • Nominating letter
  • Support letter(s) from Surgery faculty
  • Curriculum Vitae of nominee
  • List of relevant publications- include the PubMed ID number. If publication is not available in PubMed, send as a .pdf file

Past Award Winners


  • James W. Crudup Award: Frank Davis, MD
  • Young Investigator Award: Ryan Howard, MD
  • Student Research Award: Peter Delaney


  • James W. Crudup Award: Kyle Sheetz, MD, MS
  • Young Investigator Award: Michael Kemp, MD
  • Student Research Award: Alison Baskin, MD


  • James W. Crudup Award: Jay Lee, MD
  • Young Investigator Award: Frank Davis, MD
  • Student Research Award: Jeremy Lynn


  • James W. Crudup Award: Kavitha Ranganathan, MD
  • Young Investigator Award: Kyle Sheetz, MD
  • Student Research Award: Charles Hwan


  • James W. Crudup Award: Shailesh Agarwal, MD
  • Young Investigator Award: Andrew Ibrahim, MD, MS
  • Student Research Award: Heather Schofield, BS

Learn More

Learn more about how to set up and submit presentations and posters for the Moses Gunn Research Conference.

Learn more about the work of surgeon Dr. Moses Gunn, who was a Professor of Surgery at U-M from 1850-1867.