Basic Science Research

This award recognizes a scientist or group of scientists identified as having made outstanding contributions to the Medical School in basic biomedical science research. 

The award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize given to the faculty member or group.

There is a two-stage selection process. The Biomedical Research Council (BMRC) reviews the nominations and provides a list of potential awardees to the Dean of the Medical School, who makes the final selection.


Nominees must be in the rank of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor or Professor, or Assistant Research Professor, Associate Research Professor or Research Professor of the University of Michigan Medical School, which includes faculty from the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME).

Nominations for the Basic Science Research Award can be made using the Medical School's Competition Space website.

The nomination deadline is Friday, May 24, 2019.

Past Award Winners

2019: Kathleen R. Cho, M.D. & Kathleen L. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
2018: Jeffrey M. Kidd, Ph.D., Jason R. Spence, Ph.D. & Maria G. Castro, Ph.D.
2017: Anthony Antonellis, Ph.D. & Peter K. Todd, M.D., Ph.D.
2016: Yatrik M. Shah, Ph.D. & Elizabeth K. Speliotes, M.D., Ph.D., MPH
2015: Cristen J. Willer, Ph.D.
2014: Yali Dou, Ph.D. & Jun Li, Ph.D.
2013: Yukiko Yamashita, Ph.D. & Yang Zhang, Ph.D.
2012: Jiandie Lin, Ph.D. & Roger Sunahara, Ph.D.
2011: Ming Lei, Ph.D., M.Sc. & X.Z. Shawn Xu, Ph.D.
2010: Noah A. Rosenberg, Ph.D. & Raymond C. Trievel Jr., Ph.D.
2009: Martin G. Myers, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
2008: John J. G. Tesmer, Ph.D.
2007: Gregory R. Dressler, Ph.D. & John V. Moran, Ph.D.
2006: J. Brian Fowlkes, Ph.D. & Jeffrey W. Innis, M.D., Ph.D.
2005: Arul M. Chinnaiyan, M.D., Ph.D. & Ormond A. MacDougald, Ph.D.
2004: Sean Morrison, Ph.D. & David Burke, Ph.D.
2003: Zhaohui Xu, Ph.D.
2002: Sofia Merajver, M.D., Ph.D.
2001: Gabriel Nunez, M.D.