Clinical & Health Services Research

This award recognizes a faculty member or group of faculty members who are identified as having made outstanding contributions to the Medical School in clinical or health services research. 

This award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize given to the faculty member or group.

There is a two-stage selection process. The selection committee reviews the nominations and provides a list of potential awardees to the Dean of the Medical School, who makes the final selection. Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School.


Nominations for the Clinical and Health Services Research Award can be made using the Medical School's Competition Space website.

The nomination deadline is Friday, May 24, 2019.

2018 Recipients

Justin B. Dimick, M.D., MPH, George D. Zuidema Professor of Surgery

Reshma Jagsi, M.D., D.Phil., professor of radiation oncology

Daniel E. Spratt, M.D., associate professor of radiation oncology

Past Award Winners

2017: Daniel J. Clauw, M.D. & M.E. Michele Heisler, M.D., MPA
2016: John Z. Ayanian, M.D., MPP & Ella A. Kazerooni, M.D., M.S.
2015: Julie C. Lumeng, M.D., Albert P. Rocchini, M.D. & Sanjay K. Saint, M.D., M.P.H.
2014: Lewis B. Morgenstern, M.D. & Moshe Talpaz, M.D. and David C. Smith, M.D.
2013: Denise G. Tate, Ph.D. & John T. Wei, M.D., M.S.
2012: Steven J. Katz, M.D., M.P.H. & Maha Hussain, M.D., F.A.C.P.
2011: Ronald D. Chervin, M.D., M.S. & Eve A. Kerr, M.D., M.P.H.
2010: James T. Elder, M.D., Ph.D.
2009: Frederic C. Blow, Ph.D.
2008: Kevin Chung, M.D.
2007: A. Mark Fendrick, M.D. & William H. Herman, M.D., MPH.
2006: Laurence H. Baker, D.O.
2005: Rodney A. Hayward, M.D. & Mark S. Kaminski, M.D.
2004: John DeLancey, M.D.
2003: Gary L. Freed, M.D., Ph.D.
2002: Fred Morady, M.D.
2001: Sewon Kang, M.D. & Gary Fischer, Ph.D.