Community Service

This award recognizes Medical School faculty who contribute to the local, national or global community in an extraordinary fashion. 

The Dean’s Office is soliciting nominations for the Community Service Award. This award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize for the faculty member or group.

This will be a two-stage selection process. Nominations submitted to the selection committee will be reviewed and a list of potential awardees given to the Dean of the Medical School, who will make the final selection.


Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School. Nominations are welcome from faculty, staff, and/or students (self-nominations are permitted). Selection criteria include evidence of substantial and exemplary community service.

Nominations for the Community Service Award can be made using the Medical School's Competition Space website. 

The nomination deadline is Friday, May 24, 2019.

Past Award Winners 

2019: Lee F. Schroeder, M.D., Ph.D. (Global)
2018: Joseph C. Kolars, M.D. (Global) & Chad M. Brummett, M.D. (Local)
2017: Vladimir M. Ognenovski, M.D. (Global), Mark E.P. Prince, M.D. (Global), Sheila M. Marcus, M.D. (Local) & Margaret A. Riley, M.D. (Local)
2016: N. Cary Engleberg, M.D. (Global) & Stewart C. Wang, M.D., Ph.D. (Local)
2015: M.E. Michele Heisler, M.D. (Global) & Paula Anne Newman-Casey, M.D., M.S. (Local)
2014: Senait Fisseha, M.D., J.D. (Global), Linda M. Selwa, M.D. (Local) & Marcia A. Valenstein, M.D. (Local)
2013: Robert C. Hyzy, M.D.
2012: Lisa A. Newman, M.D. & Norman D. Hogikyan, M.D., F.A.C.S.
2011: Kevin R. Flaherty, M.D. & Erin L. McKean, M.D.
2010: Carol R. Bradford, M.D.
2009: Phillip E. Rodgers, M.D.
2008: No candidate
2007: Marilyn A. Roubidoux, M.D.
2006: Hari S. Conjeevaram, M.B.B.S.
2005: Sheila Gahagan, M.D.
2004: Brent Williams, M.D.
2003: Virginia Simson Nelson, M.D., M.P.H.
2002: Karin Muraszko, M.D., April Joy Ping, M.D. & Andrew Zweifler, M.D.
2001: Terence A. Joiner, M.D.