Distinguished Faculty Lectureship in Biomedical Research

The Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research continues to be the highest honor bestowed by the Medical School upon a faculty member for research in the biomedical sciences.

The Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research was first awarded in 1979 to Professor Vincent Massey. The recipient of this award is an exceptional leader in research, whose landmark contributions are recognized both nationally and internationally. Their contributions are usually linked to pivotal discoveries that have wide-ranging impact for the advancement of scientific knowledge. The recipient of this award also excels in teaching, mentoring, and service to our institution and to their colleagues in the scientific community at large.


Nature of the Award — The award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize. The winner is honored at a public event hosted by the Biomedical Research Council (BMRC) which includes an award ceremony, a scientific lecture presented by the award winner, and a reception. The recipient is also honored at the annual Dean’s Faculty and Staff Awards Dinner.

Eligibility — Nominees must be a full professor with their primary appointment in the University of Michigan Medical School which includes faculty from the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME). Junior faculty are not eligible for this award; however, they may be eligible for the Basic Science Research Award.

Selection Committee — The BMRC reviews nominations and recommends to the dean of the medical school the annual recipient of this prestigious award.

Nominations for the Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research can be made using the Medical School's Competition Space website.

The nomination deadline is Friday, May 24, 2019.

Past Award Winners

2019: John V. Moran, Ph.D.
2018: Thomas W. Glover, Ph.D.
2017: Peter Arvan, M.D., Ph.D.
2016: Janet L. Smith, Ph.D.
2015: Eric R. Fearon, M.D., Ph.D.
2014: J. Douglas Engel, Ph.D.
2013: John A. Williams, M.D., Ph.D.
2012: William L. Smith, Ph.D.
2011: Gregory T. Wolf, M.D.
2010: Joel Swanson, Ph.D.
2009: Stephen J. Weiss, M.D.
2008: Gabriel Nuñez, M.D.
2007: Anand Swaroop, Ph.D.
2006: Miriam Meisler, Ph.D.
2005: Sally A. Camper, Ph.D.
2004: David Engelke, Ph.D.
2003: Don B. Clewell, Ph.D.
2002: Christin Carter-Su, Ph.D.
2001: Steven L. Kunkel, Ph.D.
2000: Michael A. Marletta, Ph.D.
1999: David Ginsburg, M.D.
1998: Robert L. Macdonald, M.D., Ph.D.
1997: Jack E. Dixon, Ph.D.
1996: William B. Pratt, M.D.
1995: Laurence A. Boxer, M.D.
1994: Rowena G. Matthews, Ph.D.
1993: Wendell W. Weber, Ph.D., M.D.
1992: David E. Kuhl, M.D.
1991: C. William Castor, M.D.
1990: Benedict R. Lucchesi, M.D., Ph.D.
1989: Peter A. Ward, M.D.
1988: Irwin J. Goldstein, Ph.D.
1987: Myron Levine, Ph.D.
1986: Bernard W. Agranoff, M.D.
1985: Frederick C. Neidhardt, Ph.D.
1984: William N. Kelley, M.D.
1983: David Bohr, M.D.
1982: Minor J. Coon, Ph.D.
1981: James V. Neel, M.D., Ph.D.
1980: Rolf Freter, Ph.D.
1979: Vincent Massey, Ph.D.