Lifetime Achievement in Medical Education

This award recognizes truly outstanding faculty educators who are making exceptional contributions to medical education; thus, this may not be awarded every year.

The Dean’s Office is soliciting nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education. The award honors lifetime achievement in all of our education programs including M.D., Ph.D., postdoctoral and residency training, and continuing medical education, and carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize for the faculty member.

This will be a two-stage selection process. Nominations submitted to the selection committee will be reviewed and a list of potential awardees given to the Dean of the Medical School, who will make the final selection. Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School.


Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education must include the following:

  1. A letter of nomination (maximum 5 pages).
  2. Up to three letters of support from faculty colleagues.
  3. Current curriculum vitae.

The selection committee will accept previously submitted nomination and support letters but a current CV is required for each nominee. Please email the packet (as one pdf) to Kelly Espinoza at [email protected] or contact her with questions.  

The nomination deadline is Friday, May 24, 2019.

Past Award Winners

2019: R. Van Harrison, Ph.D. & Ronald J. Koenig, M.D., Ph.D.
2018: Andrew R. Barnosky, D.O., MPH & Larry D. Gruppen, Ph.D.
2017: Kate F. Barald, Ph.D. & Michael J. Shea, M.D.
2016: James O. Woolliscroft, M.D.
2015: Henry D. Appelman, M.D.
2014: Louis G. D'Alecy, D.M.D., Ph.D. & Kent J. Sheets, Ph.D.
2013: Terry J. Bergstrom, M.D.
2012: Douglas J. Gelb, M.D., Ph.D.
2011: Bernard Agranoff, M.D., Ph.D. & N. Cary Engleberg, M.D., D.T.M.H.
2010: Carol A. Kauffman, M.D.
2009: Thomas D. Gelehrter, M.D.
2008: Roger Grekin, M.D.
2007: Mary Ellen A. Hernandez, M.D.
2006: Richard D. Judge, M.D.
2005: James C. Sisson, M.D.
2004: Benedict Lucchesi, M.D., Ph.D.
2003: Kyung Cho, M.D.
2002: Mel Barclay, M.D. and Gerald Abrams, M.D.
2001: Roland (Red) Hiss, M.D.