Outstanding Clinician / Lifetime Achievement in Clinical Care

This award recognizes the exemplary performance of a practicing clinician or program leader of innovation in clinical care.

Examples include outstanding service as a medical director of a clinical program, development of clinical care management programs or new care models, leading the development of evidence-based practice guidelines or an institutional quality improvement initiative. This award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize for the faculty member or group.

This will be a two-stage selection process. Nominations submitted to the selection committee will be reviewed and a list of potential awardees given to the Dean of the Medical School, who will make the final selection. Since 2012, the selection committee has reviewed submissions for the Oustanding Clinician Award and has recommended nominees for a new award: the Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Care.


Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School.

Nominations for the Outstanding Clinician Award can be made using the Medical School's Competition Space website.

The nomination deadline is Friday, May 24, 2019.

2018 Recipients

Outstanding Clinician Award

Roma Y. Gianchandani, MBBS, associate professor of internal medicine

Hope K. Haefner, M.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology

Peter J. Strouse, M.D., John F. Holt Collegiate Professor of Radiology

Mark M. Zalupski, M.D., professor of internal medicine

Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Care

Robert C. Hyzy, M.D., professor of internal medicine

Past Award Winners

Outstanding Clinician Award

2017: James D. Geiger, M.D., Rachel L. Glick, M.D., Marie M. Lozon, M.D. & John M. Park, M.D.
Kevin C. Chung, M.D., Daniel F. Hayes, M.D., Steven A. Telian, M.D. & Christopher K. Bichakjian, M.D.
2015: Kevin M. Chan, M.D., Avraham Eisbruch, M.D., Jon A. Jacobson, M.D., Daniel R. Kaul, M.D. & R. Kevin Reynolds, M.D.
2014: Richard K. J. Brown, M.D., William D. Chey, M.D., Gregory P. Kalemkerian, M.D. & Arden M. Morris, M.D., M.P.H.
2013: Paula L. Bockenstedt, M.D., Hugh J. L. Garton, M.D., M.H.Sc., Steven M. Leber, M.D., Ph.D., Lori Lowe, M.D. & David M. Williams, M.D.
2012: Sybil Biermann, M.D., Steven E. Gradwohl, M.D., Khaled Hafez, M.D., Douglas J. Quint, M.D., & Cosmas J.M. Vandeven, M.D.
2011: Dennis C. Crowley, M.D., Paul L. Fine, M.D., James A Goulet, M.D., Mark B. Orringer, M.D. & Wendy L. Wahl, M.D.
2010: Mark A. Helvie, M.D., Jeffrey L. Myers, M.D., Michelle B. Riba, M.D., & Marjorie C. Treadwell, M.D.
2009: Eric R. Bates, M.D., Grace H. Elta, M.D. & Paul L. Sonda, III, M.D.
2008: Steven R. Buchman, M.D. & Timothy T. Nostrant, M.D.
2007: G. Michael Deeb, M.D., Mark A. McQuillan, M.D. & B. Gregory Thompson, M.D.
2006: Kenneth J. Pituch, M.D., Larry R. Junck, M.D. & Barry H. Gross, M.D.
2005: William J. McCune, M.D. & John E. McGillicuddy, M.D.
2004: Harry Erba, M.D. & Norah Naughton, M.D.
2003: William Chandler, M.D., Kim Eagle, M.D. & Linda Selwa, M.D.
2002: Margie Andreae, M.D. & Timothy Johnson, M.D.
2001: James F. Peggs, M.D. & Powell Kazanjian, M.D.

Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Care

2017: Richard H. Simon, M.D.
Not awarded
2015: Fred Morady, M.D. & Patricia L. Robertson, M.D.
2014: James C. Stanley, M.D.
2013: Kenneth R. Silk, M.D. & Alan Sugar, M.D.
2012: Shan R. Baker, M.D. & Michael A. DiPietro, M.D.