School Leadership

Medical School Organizational Chart

The integration of the Medical School and the nearby hospitals and health centers has been critical to the success of the University of Michigan’s academic medical center. Faculty, staff and students in the school have worked closely with colleagues throughout the U-M clinical enterprise to fulfill the school’s mission:

To educate students, physicians, and biomedical scholars and to provide a spectrum of comprehensive knowledge, research, patient care and service of the highest quality to the people of the state of Michigan and beyond.

As of Jan. 1, 2016, a new leadership structure is in place to advance the collaboration necessary for the U-M to remain competitive in today’s fast-paced and ever-changing health care marketplace.

Marschall S. Runge, M.D., Ph.D., who came to the U-M in 2015 as executive vice president for medical affairs, has assumed additional responsibility as dean of the Medical School. Bringing together the EVPMA and dean roles will naturally increase collaboration between faculty and staff in the Medical School and colleagues in hospitals and health centers. 

Carol R. Bradford, M.D., M.S., is executive vice dean for acacdemic affairs. She focuses on the educational mission and continues to ensure the Medical School provides excellent training and mentoring for students, residents and fellows.

David A. Spahlinger, M.D., is executive vice dean for clinical affairs and president of the U-M clinical enterprise, which includes inpatient and ambulatory care provided by U-M Medical Group physicians and other health professionals at University Hospital, Frankel Cardiovascular Center, C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital, Von Voigtlander Women’s Hospital, and the many primary and specialty care centers located throughout Michigan.

As leadership continues a process of assessment and review of priorities, additional top leaders will be named in the research enterprise and information technology.

Collectively, this group will work closely with an outstanding team of dedicated faculty who serve as deans and department chairs and sit on the school’s Executive Committee that represents the 3,160 faculty who are part of the Medical School, as well as talented senior staff.