Executive Committee

The faculty members of the Medical School have special duties in its governance. Under the Medical School Bylaws, an executive committee comprised of members of the executive faculty advises the Dean and is charged with duties of investigating and formulating educational and instructional policies for consideration by the faculty. It acts for the faculty on personnel matters such as the promotion and appointment of faculty, curriculum and student-related issues, and creation or dissolution of departments of the Medical School.

The Executive Committee receives advice and recommendations from the following committees:

Elected committees responsible for the appointment, promotion, title and tenure of the faculty.

  • Advisory Committee on Appointments, Promotion and Tenure (ACAPT)
  • Advisory Committee on Primary Research Appointments, Promotions and Titles (APRAPT)
  • Advisory Committee on Clinical Track Appointments (CLINACAP)

Elected committees responsible for medical student education.

  • Academic Review Boards
  • Academic Hearing Committee (AHC)
  • Curriculum Policy Committee (CPC)

The Executive Committee normally meets weekly and is the senior governing body of the Medical School. The committee includes nine members elected by the faculty and appointed by the University of Michigan Board of Regents (Regents Bylaw 11.38) on the recommendation of the President. Other members of the Executive Committee include the Executive Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs/President of the U-M Clinical Enterprise, and the Dean of the Medical School/Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, who also serves as chair of the committee.

Executive Committee Membership

The composition of the Executive Committee (as of July 2018):

Marschall S. Runge, M.D., Ph.D., Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean, Medical School, CEO, Michigan Medicine (chair)

David A. Spahlinger, M.D., Executive Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs and President, U-M Health System (ex officio)

Carol R. Bradford, M.D., Executive Vice Dean for Academic Affairs, Chief Academic Officer, Michigan Medicine, and Professor, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery

Steven L. Kunkel, Ph.D., Executive Vice Dean for Research, Chief Scientific Officer, Michigan Medicine, and Professor, departments of Molecular and Integrative Physiology and Internal Medicine

Elected Membership

Sally A. Camper, Ph.D., Professor, departments of Human Genetics and Internal Medicine

Larry D. Gruppen, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Learning Health Sciences

Lori L. Isom, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Pharmacology, and Professor, departments of Pharmacology, Molecular and Integrative Physiology, and Neurology

Karin Muraszko, M.D., Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, and Professor, departments of Neurosurgery, Surgery and Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases

Jeffrey L. Myers, M.D., Professor, Department of Pathology

Norah N. Naughton, M.D., Associate Professor, departments of Anesthesiology and Obstetrics and Gynecology

Phillip E. Rodgers, M.D., Associate Professor, departments of Family Medicine and Internal Medicine

Peter J. H. Scott, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

Richard H. Simon, M.D., Professor, Department of Internal Medicine