April 22, 2022

Four faculty, two staff earn awards for excellence in graduate medical education

The recipients will be honored during a virtual reception on May 10

Star awards graphic

Faculty and staff members from the departments of Anesthesiology, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, and Urology, as well as the Child Neurology Residency Program, are recipients of awards from the Office of Graduate Medical Education (GME) for 2022. They are: 

Program Director Excellence Award 

Kate H. Kraft, M.D., an associate professor and residency program director in the Department of Urology, is recipient of the Program Director Excellence Award, which recognizes a residency or fellowship program director who has had a significant impact by optimizing the quality of education in a training program, enhancing the residency/fellowship experience for trainees, helping individuals to reach their greatest potential, and/or enhancing graduate medical education at institutional levels (Michigan Medicine inpatient and outpatient experiences and/or VA Hospital system).

Kraft has proven to be an exceptional leader and innovator for the Urology residency program, and an attentive educator. She promotes the growth and development of residents at both a personal and professional level.

Her nominators wrote: She is reputed to be one of the most dependable and trusted young leaders in our field. She has done an outstanding job in stewarding and growing our nationally recognized Urology residency program. She has continued to recruit the highest-caliber medical students to our program and kept the faculty and trainees focused on our historical mission of Michigan Urology being the educational leader in improving the field of urology. Under her leadership, our annual program evaluations have been flawless. Rather than maintaining a status quo, she has constantly sought innovative ways to improve the quality of education. She has been most appreciated by faculty and trainees for her day-to-day personal examples of integrity, excellence, and kindness. She is a true role model in how to pursue excellence in both professional and personal lives. She is passionate about achieving excellence in life, and she aspires to translate this passion by being a consummate educator at all levels of leadership.

Program Administrator Excellence Award

Teri Behnke, a GME program administrator for the Child Neurology Residency Program, is one of two recipients of the Program Administrator Excellence Award, which recognizes the outstanding skills of program administrators who possess and utilize an in-depth knowledge of graduate medical education, excel in the day-to-day management of a residency or fellowship program, demonstrate excellent communication and interpersonal skills and/or those who have implemented innovative projects to improve graduate medical education, streamline processes, or assist in training other GME professionals.

An administrator for the program since 1998, Behnke is an expert on GME policies, and an incredible sound of support. She is very organized and has exceptional interpersonal skills. She exudes warmth and puts everyone at ease, whether in person or in a virtual setting.

Lisa Miller, an education administrator in the Department of Internal Medicine, is the second recipient of the Program Administrator Excellence Award.

An administrator for the program since 2013, Miller provides oversight of 24 Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and non-ACGME Internal Medicine residency and fellowship programs, as well as their program administrators. Her contributions and commitment to each of these programs have been superlative. She is an intelligent, hardworking, and committed individual who is tireless.

Mentor or Teacher of the Year Award

Emily E. Peoples, M.D., an assistant professor of anesthesiology and program director of the department’s residency program, is recipient of the Mentor of the Year Award, which recognizes a faculty member who has served as an outstanding mentor or teacher for a resident or fellow trainee through dedication, leadership, teamwork, advocacy, role modeling, instruction in research, clinical care, and education.

Peoples works to create safe learning environments that encourage residents to explore the boundaries of their abilities. She is always striving to improve the program and is focused on making evidence-based changes that support the growth of all. She extends her compassion and understanding to each resident and situation, while keeping the clinical and professional growth of the residents in mind. She is an invaluable mentor, leader, and educator.

Faculty Equity and Inclusion Award

Anita M. Malone, M.D., an assistant professor and associate residency program director in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, is recipient of the Faculty Equity and Inclusion Award, which recognizes faculty who have fostered an environment of equity and inclusion within their training program in efforts to improve disparities.

Malone joined the Department in 2014, and since then she has served as a clinical educator, mentor, role model, and leader. She has been an instrumental leader in her diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts through her support of education at all levels. Her profound contributions, both seen and unseen, have been critical to the department’s support, recruitment, and advancement of medical students and residents. The initiatives and programs she is involved with support the dismantling of inequities and disparities.

Faculty Innovation Award

David A. Zopf, M.D., M.S., an assistant professor of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, is recipient of the Faculty Innovation Award, which recognizes faculty who have made outstanding and innovative contributions to graduate medical education through areas in evaluation, education, quality, patient safety, leadership skills development, global outreach, and wellness.

Zopf exemplifies the innovative inventor and discoverer. He has made groundbreaking discoveries that are being rapidly translated into clinical practice and is a key leader in medical 3D-printing. He has worked with UNICEF, the United Nations, and multiple embassies and ambassadors in COVID-related efforts, as well as obtaining FDA approval for a novel ventilatory device during the pandemic. His teaching constructs are used throughout the nation and internationally for education. He continues to address health care challenges, and makes patient care safer though innovation in medical device engineering and education.

The recipients will be honored during a virtual reception on May 10.