October 17, 2023

Thirteen receive Faculty and Staff Awards for 2023

More than 200 nominations came in, and all of the nominees deserve praise and thanks for all they do for Michigan Medicine

Michigan Medicine logo

Thirteen of the best and brightest individuals serving Michigan Medicine as recipients of Faculty and Staff Awards for 2023.

After a three-year pause due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the organization relaunched the awards program this year and expanded its reach to include all of Michigan Medicine. More than 200 nominations were received, and all of the nominees deserve praise and thanks for all they do for Michigan Medicine.

The award selection committees had tough decisions to make, but they selected these very deserving 2023 recipients (click on award title for a description):

Basic Science Research Award

Scott Pletcher, Ph.D., William H. Howell Collegiate Professor of Physiology; Professor, Department of Molecular & Integrative Physiology; Research Professor, Institute of Gerontology

Big Heart Award

Jamie Yerebeck, Patient Services Senior, Department of Dermatology

Clinical and Health Services Research Award

Sarah T. Hawley, Ph.D., MPH, Maisel Research Professor of Cancer Control and Population Science; Professor, Department of Internal Medicine

Community Service Award

Kelly A. Orringer, M.D., Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research

Shaomeng Wang, Ph.D., Warner-Lambert/Parke Davis Professor in Medicine; Professor, Department of Pharmacology

Excellence in Patient Care Award

Ellen J. Higgins, M.S., PA-C, Diagnostics and Clinical Information Management Advanced Practice Provider Manager

Lifetime Achievement in Medical Education Award

Michael A. DiPietro, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Departments of Radiology and Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases

Michigan Medicine Core Values Award

Suzie Armiak, Administrative Specialist Associate, Central Staffing Resources (Staff)
Diana M. Gomez-Hassan, M.D., Professor and Vice Chair for Operations and Strategy, Department of Radiology (Faculty)

Outstanding Clinician Award

Benjamin S. Bassin, M.D., Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine; Associate Director, Survival Flight; Director, Emergency Critical Care Center

Outstanding Leadership Award

Melissa McInroy, Exercise Physiologist; leader of the Adult Pulmonary Rehabilitation Program

Technology & Innovation Award Michigan

Institute for Imaging Technology and Translation (MIITT) Co-directors:
Vikas Gulani M.D., Ph.D., Fred Jenner Hodges Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology
Nicole Seiberlich, Ph.D., Professor, Departments of Radiology, Internal Medicine and Biomedical Engineering

The recipients will be honored Nov. 30 at a reception in the Jack Roth Stadium Club in Michigan Stadium.