

ASHP Foundation News Release

University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers Receives ASHP Foundation's 2010 Pharmacy **Residency Excellence Program Award**

ASHP Foundation to recognize all 2010 recipients in Anaheim, California

11/23/10

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Research and Education Foundation will recognize the recipients of the 2010 Pharmacy Residency Excellence Awards at a special reception held during the ASHP 2010 Midyear Clinical Meeting in Anaheim, California. The Program Award, which recognizes a pharmacy residency program for excellence in the training of pharmacy residents and consistently provides an exceptionally positive and rewarding experience to its residents, will be given to the University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers and College of Pharmacy Postgraduate Year 1 Pharmacy Residency Program.

"This award is recognition that we are one of the premier pharmacy residencies in the country," said John S. Clark, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, the Associate Director of Pharmacy and Pharmacy Residency Program Director at the University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers, and Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. "It recognizes the accomplishments of our graduates and our preceptors, who work tirelessly. Our preceptors' ability to instill knowledge, skills, abilities and attitudes in our residents has provided graduates of our program with the necessary framework for them to be leaders in our profession."

This awards program, supported by an educational donation provided by Amgen, Inc., recognizes excellence in pharmacy residency training through recognition of residency programs, preceptors and new preceptors. The recipients of this award have demonstrated excellence and innovation in training pharmacy residents and serve as models for other pharmacy residency programs and preceptors.

The other recipients are:

2010 New Preceptor Award

Jennifer Namba, Pharm.D. University of California San Diego Medical Center San Diego, California

2010 Preceptor Award

Beth Bryles Phillips, Pharm.D. University of Georgia Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center Athens, Georgia

"Residency preceptors and program directors have the opportunity and the responsibility to influence, motivate and cultivate the next generation of pharmacy practice leaders," says Stephen J. Allen, ASHP Foundation Executive Vice President and CEO. "In administering the Pharmacy Residency Excellence Awards Program, the ASHP Foundation recognizes practitioners who demonstrate excellence and innovation in training residents. We work to share the success stories of these recipients with all residency program directors and preceptors as examples of successful strategies that they may consider applying in their own residency training programs."

The awardees will be formally recognized at a reception to be held on December 4, 2010, in the Anaheim Convention Center.

Related Resources

For more information regarding this awards program and the recipients, please visit our Web site at www.ashpfoundation.org/residencyawards.

About the ASHP Foundation

The ASHP Research and Education Foundation was established in 1968 by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists as a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization. The mission of the Foundation is to improve the health and well-being of patients in hospitals and health systems through appropriate, safe and effective medication use. The Foundation provides leadership and conducts education and research activities that foster the coordination of interdisciplinary medication management leading to optimal patient outcomes. Emphasis is given to programs that will have a major impact on advancing pharmacy practice in hospitals and health systems, thereby improving public health.

Contact Information

Daniel J. Cobaugh, Pharm.D. Vice President ASHP Foundation 301-664-8612 foundation@ashp.org

Bethany Coulter
Director of Communications & Events
ASHP Foundation
301-664-8795
bcoulter@ashp.org