Explanation of Regions

Our regions map and categorizations are based on the World Bank's 2018 Sustainable Development Goals Atlas, with one notable exception: we've carved out Central America as its own region.

North America (comprises collaborations in both Mexico and Canada)

Central America (includes the Caribbean islands)

South America

Sub-Saharan Africa

Europe & Central Asia (includes Russia and the former Soviet states)

Middle East

South Asia (includes India, Pakistan and surrounding states)

East Asia & Pacific (includes China, the Philippines and Australia)