September 1, 2023

Save the Date: Dr. Eva Feldman Award Lecture

Join Dr. Feldman for her celebratory lecture, who will be accompanied by President Santa Ono, Provost Laurie McCauley, Executive Vice President of Medical Affairs (EVPMA) Marschall Runge, and two other awardees.

A year ago, the University of Michigan announced that Eva Feldman M.D., Ph.D., would receive its highest faculty award.  She became the James W. Albers Distinguished University Professor, named after her longtime mentor.

On November 9, Dr. Feldman will be joined by President Santa Ono, Provost Laurie McCauley, and Executive Vice President of Medical Affairs (EVPMA) Marschall Runge to celebrate the University of Michigan Distinguished Professorship.  She, like the two other awardees that evening, will give a special lecture about the work that led to this great honor.  

In her talk, Dr. Feldman will take us on a journey through the many pathways, both personal and scientific, that she traveled in her storied career.

The event, which is open to the public, will be held from 4 to 6 PM at the Ruthaven Building, where the current University administration is housed. The presentations will be followed by a reception.

Here is the 2022 University Record story initially announced this distinguished professorship:

The University Record Logo

 Five faculty members named Distinguished University Professors

By Ann Zaniewski

Five University of Michigan faculty members have been recognized for their outstanding teaching and service with one of U-M’s most prestigious honors: the Distinguished University Professorship.

The Board of Regents approved the appointments July 21. They begin Sept. 1, last throughout the recipient’s period of active service at the university and may be retained after retirement.

Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointed professor in consultation with his or her dean. Newly appointed Distinguished University Professors are invited to give an inaugural lecture.

The Board of Regents established the Distinguished University Professorships in 1947 to recognize senior faculty members with exceptional scholarly or creative achievements, national and international reputations for academic excellence and superior records of teaching, mentoring and service.

The 2022 Distinguished University Professors are:

portrait of Dr. Eva Feldman in the lab
Eva L. Feldman

• Eva L. Feldman, the James W. Albers Distinguished University Professor of Neurology. Her current title is the Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology, and professor of neurology in the Medical School.

In their recommendation letter to the regents, Laurie K. McCauley, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, and Michael Solomon, Rackham Graduate School dean and vice provost for academic affairs, said Feldman is an internationally acclaimed clinician-scientist and leader in health care and academic medicine.

She conducts seminal research on understanding and treating complications of diabetes and obesity, and on determining the mechanisms and treatment strategies for neurological disorders such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis and Alzheimer’s disease.

“Professor Feldman is a gifted educator and mentor who teaches fellows and residents and imparts her extraordinary clinical expertise to the next generation of health care providers. … In particular, she is an inspiration and strong advocate for women scientists and clinicians,” they wrote...

For the rest of the article, please click here.