January 26, 2022

Five MNI Affiliate Members named AAAS fellows for 2021

As reported in the University Record, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elected 20 University of Michigan faculty members as 2021 fellows, five of whom are MNI Affiliate Members. 

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals. Selection as an AAAS fellow is among the most distinguished honors within the scientific community.

We are proud to recognize the following MNI Affiliate Members receiving this distinct honor:

  • George Mashour, Robert B. Sweet Professor of Anesthesiology, Professor of Neurosurgery, and of Professor of Pharmacology, Medical School; Adjunct Professor of Psychology, LSA, for distinguished contributions to the fields of academic anesthesiology and neuroscience, particularly for studies across the translational spectrum identifying network-level mechanisms of how general anesthetics disrupt consciousness.
  • Patricia Ann Reuter-Lorenz, Michael I. Posner Collegiate Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience, LSA; Faculty Associate, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, for distinguished contributions to the field of cognitive neuroscience, particularly for outstanding research on mechanisms of attention, memory and aging, and for dedicated service to the field.
  • Susan Shore, Merle Lawrence Collegiate Professor of Otolaryngology Research, Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Kresge Hearing Research Institute; Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Medical School; and Professor of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering, for distinguished contributions to the field of sensory neuroscience, particularly in the roles of brainstem circuitry for audition and mechanisms underlying tinnitus and hyperacusis.
  • Stephan Taylor, Professor of Psychiatry, Medical School; Adjunct Professor of Psychology, LSA, for distinguished contributions in research for developing and improving treatments for psychiatric disorders.
  • Bing Ye, Burton L. Baker Collegiate Professor of the Life Sciences, Life Sciences Institute; and Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology, Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of developmental neuroscience, particularly for the molecular basis of the specification of axonal and dendritic morphology, and for their functional characteristics.

The new fellows will be celebrated later this year during an in-person gathering when it is feasible from a public health and safety perspective.