February 8, 2023

Three MNI Affiliates Named AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science elected 17 University of Michigan faculty and staff members as 2022 Fellows, three of them MNI Affiliates.

AAAS, which is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals, announced that 506 scientists, engineers and innovators have been chosen for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements.

Donna Martin, Randy Seeley, John Traynor

“AAAS is proud to elevate these standout individuals and recognize the many ways in which they’ve advanced scientific excellence, tackled complex societal challenges and pushed boundaries that will reap benefits for years to come,” said Sudip Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals. Congratulations to the following MNI Affiliate members on their respective accomplishments:

  • Donna Martin, M.D., Ph.D., Ravitz Foundation Endowed Professor of Pediatrics, Chair of Pediatrics and Professor of Human Genetics. Honored for distinguished contributions to the field of developmental neuroscience, particularly for modeling epigenetic disorders to treat human disease.
  • Randy Seeley, Ph.D., Henry King Ransom Professor of Surgery and Professor of Internal Medicine and Nutritional Sciences. Honored for distinguished contributions to the fields of food intake and body weight control.
  • John Traynor, Ph.D., Edward F. Domino Research Professor of Pharmacology and professor of medicinal chemistry, for outstanding contributions to understanding opiate receptor structure and function, opiate pharmacology and drug discovery, and mechanism of drug addiction, and for his exceptional administration in academe and professional societies.