Saturday, June 4, 2022

93rd Annual Spring Conference

8:00 AM to 3:30 PM


Reception and Conference will be held in person at the Kellogg Eye Center.

47th Annual F. Bruce Fralick Lecture: Pilots and Physicians, Passengers and Patients: Making Decisions When Stakes are High

One of the longest-running ophthalmology conferences in the country, our annual Spring Conference provides a comprehensive and focused medical and surgical update for the sub-specialist, ophthalmologist, and ophthalmologist-in-training.

The 93rd Annual Spring Postgraduate Conference will explore the practical challenges facing physicians in ophthalmology.


  • Ergonomic Interventions to Reduce Pain in Ophthalmology
  • Money can buy happiness: Improvements in Operating Room Efficiencies
  • Private Equity Acquisition in Ophthalmology
  • Clinical Features and Treatment of Orbital Fractures
  • Update on Teprotumumab
  • A Day in the Life of a Pediatric Orbit Surgeon
  • 47th Annual F. Bruce Fralick Lecture: Pilots and Physicians, Passengers and Patients: Making Decisions When Stakes are High
  • Lunchtime Keynote Lecture: The Aravind Approach to Social Responsibility in Residency
  • Wellness Session: including mentorship walks (40 minutes), a live demonstration on cooking healthy recipes and the nutritional benefits (60 minutes), a lab workshop on ergonomics of the clinical eye exam (10 minutes) and a lab workshop on neck and spinal health (10 minutes)

Accreditation and Credit Designation

The University of Michigan Medical School is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The University of Michigan Medical School designates this live activity for a maximum of 7.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s) ™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

49th F. Bruce Fralick Lecture

Tamara R. Fountain, MD

Tamara R. Fountain, MD

2021 President, American Academy of Ophthalmology
Professor and Section Chair Emeritus
Oculofacial Plastic Surgery
Department of Ophthalmology
Rush University Medical Center

Guest Speakers

Vikram D. Durairaj , MD, FACS

Vikram D. Durairaj , MD, FACS

Oculoplastic and Orbital Surgery
Director, American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and
Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship
Preceptor, AACS Facial Cosmetic Surgery Fellowship
Managing Partner, TOC Eye and Face
Faculty, Department of Ophthalmology
Dell Medical School – University of Texas at Austin
Gary J. Lelli, MD

Gary J. Lelli, MD

Vice Chair of Ophthalmology
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Weill Cornell Medical College, Cornell University