Contact Us

Patient Inquiries:

Michigan Medicine
Emergency Department
1500 East Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5014
Phone: 734-936-6666
Fax:  734-615-8187

Chairman’s Office:

Robert Neumar, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5301
Phone: 734-936-0253
Fax: 734-763-7228
neumar@umich.edu
Shannon Bednarski, Executive Assistant
warrens@umich.edu

Administration:

Steve Maxwell
Department Administrator
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5301
Phone: 734-936-6020
Fax: 734-763-7228
stevemax@med.umich.edu
Shelley Osenroth, Administrative Assistant
sosenrot@med.umich.edu

Jennifer G. Holmes RN BSN MHSA
Director of Operations 
Emergency Department
Michigan Medicine
University of Michigan
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5014
Phone: 734- 647-7590
FAX: 734-998-2554
jgholmes@med.umich.edu

Administrative Assistants
Susie Read
srread@med.umich.edu
Jenni Moro
jmickevi@med.umich.edu

Christine Berry
Human Resources Manager
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5301
Phone: 734-936-6325
FAX: 734-763-7228
erijas@umich.edu

Debra Burrun
Finance Manager
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5301
Phone:  734-936-7839
FAX: 734-763-7228
dburrum@med.umich.edu

Patient Services:

Adult Emergency Department

Marie Lozon, M.D.
Interim Associate Chair of Operations
Children's Emergency Services
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1540 E. Hospital Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-4260
Phone: 734-763-9849
Fax:  734-232-2666
mlozon@umich.edu
Gail Spaulding, Administrative Assistant
rgspauld@med.umich.edu

Steven Kronick, M.D.
Service Chief
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5303
Phone: 734-763-9849
Fax:  734-936-9414
skronick@umich.edu
Nancy Frost, Administrative Assistant
nfrost@med.umich.edu

Benjamin Bassin, MD
Associate Director Survival Flight
Associate Service Chief
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5303
Phone: 734-763-2134
bsbassin@med.umich.edu
Cindy Trafford, Administrative Assistant
ctraffor@umich.edu

David Somand, MD 
Associate Service Chief
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5303
Phone: 734-763-2134
dsomand@med.umich.edu
Cindy Trafford, Administrative Assistant
ctraffor@umich.edu

Jon Fairchild, M.S., R.N., C.E.N. NE-BC
Nurse Manager
Adult Emergency Services, Emergency Department
Michigan Medicine
University of Michigan
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5014
Phone: 734-936-7084
fairchil@med.umich.edu
Stephanie Bethke, Administrative Assistant
sbethke@med.umich.edu

Children’s Emergency Services

Prashant Mahajan, MD
Professor and Vice-Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Division Director, Children's Emergency Services
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1540 E. Hospital Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-4260
Phone: 734-763-9298
pmahajan@med.umich.edu
Gail Spaulding, Administrative Assistant
rgspauld@med.umich.edu

Nicole Sroufe, M.D., MPH 
Service Chief
Children's Emergency Services
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1540 E. Hospital Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-4260
Phone: 734-763-9298
nicolel@med.umich.edu
Gail Spaulding, Administrative Assistant
rgspauld@med.umich.edu

Kelly Baird-Cox, MSN RN CPNP CPEN, CEN, NE-BC 
Nurse Manager
C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital
1540 E. Hospital Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-4205
Phone: 734-232-0191
bairdcox@med.umich.edu

Dawn Harris, Administrative Assistant
dawnah@umich.edu

Emergency Critical Care Unit

Kyle Gunnerson, MD
Director
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5303
Phone: 734-763-2134
Fax:  734-936-9414
Cindy Trafford, Administrative Assistant
ctraffor@umich.edu

Survival Flight

Mark Lowell, M.D.
Director
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5303
Phone: 734-615-2766
Fax:  734-936-9414
mlowell@umich.edu
Nancy Frost, Administrative Assistant
nfrost@umich.edu

Denise Landis
Manager
Survival Flight
Michigan Medicine
1500 East Medical Center Drive 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5307
Phone: 734-936-6045
FAX: 734-936-9414
dlandis@umich.edu
Cindy Brown, Administrative Assistant
cinbrow@umich.edu

Education:

Sally Santen, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Chair for Education
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5305
Phone: 734-936-3168
FAX: 734-763-9298
ssanten@umich.edu

Laura Hopson, M.D.
Director
Emergency Medicine Residency Program
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5305
Phone: 734-763-7919
FAX: 734-763-9298
lhopson@umich.edu 

Joseph House, M.D.
Director
Medical Student Programs
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5305
Phone: 734-763-1271
FAX: 734-763-9298
joshouse@umich.edu
Kailey Bartrum, Program Assistant
bartrumk@med.umich.edu

Michele Carney, M.D.
Director
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship Program
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5305
Phone: 734-232-6166
FAX: 734-763-9298
mmcarney@umich.edu
Janene Bondie, Program Coordinator
jbondie@umich.edu

Ambrosya Amlong
Director, Education Operations
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1500 E Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48109-5305
Phone: 734-763-6370
Fax: 734-763-9298
aamlong@med.umich.edu

Research:

Rebecca Cunningham
Associate Chair for Research
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
North Campus Research Complex
Building #26 Room 319N
2800 Plymouth Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2800
Phone: 734-764-4554
FAX: 734-615-2111
stroh@med.umich.edu
Wendi Mohl, Administrative Assistant
wendig@med.umich.edu

Shelley Haack-Withem
Research Manager
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
North Campus Research Complex
Building #26 Room 319N
2800 Plymouth Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2800
Phone: 734-763-9914
FAX: 734-615-2111
sahaack@umich.edu