William H. Beierwaltes Endowment of Nuclear Medicine in Radiology

To honor William H. Beierwaltes' pioneering work and many contributions to the field of nuclear medicine, the Department of Radiology has embarked on a campaign to establish the William H. Beierwaltes Endowment of Nuclear Medicine in Radiology.

An endowment that builds upon Dr. Beierwaltes' exceptional career in nuclear medicine at the University of Michigan Hospital and Health Systems will be an enduring legacy that will enable important future advances in the field. Through this endowment we recognize and honor Dr. Beierwaltes’ exceptional service to patients, trainees and the profession.

The William H. Beierwaltes Endowment of Nuclear Medicine in Radiology will establish an annual lectureship in Dr. Beierwaltes’ name to attract outstanding teachers and leaders in the field as speakers. The Endowment will also provide ongoing support to faculty members, allowing them to focus on expanding clinical, educational, and research programs in Nuclear Medicine.

"It is difficult to place into words the charisma that leaders like Dr. Beierwaltes have for inspiring young people to follow their example."


"Training under Dr. Beierwaltes has left a lasting impression on me and many other residents and fellows. His infectious enthusiasm, energy, positive outlook and 'can do' attitude were inspiring. He actively encouraged and promoted the careers of his trainees, believing that their success reflected on his own and deriving great pleasure from their achievements."


"Dr. B was the greatest! I always enjoyed interacting with him. He loved nuclear medicine and loved those who loved nuclear medicine. He was perpetually enthusiastic . . . Whenever I see a picture of Dr. B, I always smile and remember how much I enjoyed just being around him."


William H. Beierwaltes Lectureship In Radiology Invited Speakers

2022 - Jason S. Lewis, Ph.D.; Rodney Hicks, M.B.B.S. (Hons), M.D.

2019 - 2021 - No lecture scheduled

2018 - M. Elizabeth Oates, M.D.

2017 - Satoshi Minoshima, M.D., Ph.D.

2014 - Richard Wahl, M.D.

2013 - James H. Thrall, M.D.