May 25, 2020

Terence C. Davies, M.D. Award Winner Announced

Congratulations to Laura G. Kruger!


The Department is pleased to announce that Laura G. Kruger is the recipient of the 33rd annual Terence C. Davies, M.D. Award. 

Laura graduated from the University of Michigan with an undergraduate degree in biomedical engineering. 

Headshot of Laura Kruger, M.D.

A pivotal moment in medical school came during the summer of 2017 when Laura was a student in the Kenneth and Judy Betz Summer Preceptorship program in Holland, Mich. “My experience during my preceptorship not only emphasized the importance of building relationships in family medicine, but, was also incredibly influential in my future career choice,” shared Laura. 

During medical school, Laura served as the co-leader of the Family Medicine Interest Group and was elected by her peers at the Student Council Vice President to represent medical student interests at the medical school and campus level. She also was involved at the Ypsilanti Corner Health Center and volunteered at the U-M Student Run Free Clinic. 

“One of my most rewarding experiences in medical school has been volunteering at the U-M Student Run Free Clinic. We help uninsured/ underinsured patients in our community receive needed healthcare while working on a multidisciplinary team with dental students, nurse practitioners and dieticians. I love teaching patients about their health so they can feel more empowered to make lifestyle changes,” said Laura. It was through her work at the free clinic that helped her realize her passion for patient education and clinical teaching, as well as her commitment to social justice. 

Laura remains at the University of Michigan Department of Family Medicine for her residency. 

“As I look forward to family medicine residency, I am excited to develop longitudinal relationships with my patients, care for patients of all ages, provide comprehensive women’s health care and gender affirming care, and continue to be involved in clinical education.” 

This award was established in honor of the founding Chair of the Department of Family Medicine, Terence C. Davies, M.D. The award is presented to a graduating senior who exemplifies the qualities of an outstanding family physician: dedication to patient needs, intellectual curiosity, personal integrity, community service and leadership. 

Congratulations Laura!