Clinical Excellence Society

Clinical Excellence Society 2018 Inductees

2018 Clinical Excellence Society Inductees
(L to R): Francis Worden, Floyd John Brinley, III, Laraine Washer, Michelle Anderson, Matthew DiMagno, Amy Rothberg, Helena Schotland, Steve Gay, Tim Cotts, Christopher Lao

The Clinical Excellence Society recognizes in an ongoing fashion those faculty who, by their peers and their division, exude and demonstrate clinical excellence towards their patients and colleagues.

Officers 2018 - 2019 (effective April 1, 2018)

Committee Members and Initiatives

Wellness – Michael Lukela, MD; William Chey, MD; Mark McQuillan, MD
Curriculum – Roma Gianchandani, MD; Nazanene Esfandiari, MD
Mentorship – Jo Wiggins, MD; Greg Kalemkerian, MD
Coaching – Jo Wiggins, MD; Richard Simon, MD
Career Advising – Frank Worden, MD; Mark McQuillan, MD
Community Service – Doug Arenberg, MD; Mark McQuillan, MD
Global Education – Hari Conjeevaram, MD;  Mark McQuillan, MD
MiChart Efficiency Enhancement – Robert Chang, MD; Linda Terrell, MD; Mark Mcquillan, MD
Philanthropy – Kim Eagle, MD; Mark McQuillan, MD
Women in Medicine – Jo Wiggins, MD; Mark McQuillan, MD
Website – William Chey, MD; Mark McQuillan, MD

Membership Criteria and Benefits

Clinical Excellence Society Bylaws

Criteria for Eligibility

  1. At least 25% clinical effort consistently, preferably at least 50% clinical effort, within the Department of Internal Medicine, and total FTE >50%.
  2. Seven years as faculty, with at least four at the University of Michigan.
  3. Division chief and peer letters that detail the faculty member’s consistent clinical prowess and interactions.
  4. Outstanding citizenship within the division and department.
  5. Election into the Society based on materials received.

Membership will be lifetime while in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan. Members will be elected and inaugurated at an annual dinner. Benefits will include website recognition, potential enhancement of annual CME discretionary funds, selection of subsequent members, selection of speaker for annual induction dinner, participation in other functions that the Society initiates, among others. The Department of Internal Medicine will expect members and the Society as a whole to serve as a thought group providing advice on clinical excellence to the department, and to promote clinical excellence throughout the enterprise through example and mentoring.

Nominations for election each year will go through members of the Clinical Excellence Society.


  • Website recognition
  • Potential annual enhancement of discretionary funds
  • Business cards with CES logo
  • White lab coats with CES logo
  • Opportunity for sabbatical
  • Opportunity for Leadership Academy
  • Participation in voting and initiatives
  • Participation in selection of keynote speakers
  • Opportunity to participate in nomination and selection of new members


2018 Inductees

Clinical Excellence Society 2018 Inductees
(From Left to Right): Francis Worden, Floyd John Brinley, III, Laraine Washer, Michelle Anderson, Matthew DiMagno, Amy Rothberg, Helena Schotland, Steve Gay, Tim Cotts, Christopher Lao

 2017 Inductees

From left to right:  Dale Bixby, MD, PhD; Palak Choksi, MD; Silas Norman, MD; Mary Kleaveland, MD; Hari Conjeevaram, MD, MSc; Thomas Sisson, MD; Scott Schuetze, MD, PhD; Robert Chang, MD; Yeong Kwok, MD; Caroline Vitale, MD, AGSF

Dale Bixby, MD, PhD
Robert Chang, MD
Palak Choksi, MD
Hari Conjeevaram, MD, MSc
Mary Kleaveland, MD
Yeong Kwok, MD
Silas Norman, MD, MPH
Scott Schuetze, MD, PhD
Thomas Sisson, MD
Caroline Vitale, MD, AGSF

2016 Inductees

U-M Internal Medicine 2016 Clinical Excellence Society Inductees
From left to right:  William Armstrong, MD; Jennifer Wyckoff, MD; Scott Flanders, MD; Karen Hall, MD; Michael Lukela, MD; Peter Higgins, MD; William Hasler, MD; Vladimir Ognenovski, MD.  Not shown: Douglas Arenberg, MD; Tammy Ojo, MD

Douglas Arenberg, MD
William Armstrong, MD
Scott Flanders, MD
Karen Hall, MD
William Hasler, MD
Peter Higgins, MD
Michael Lukela, MD
Vladimir Ognenovski, MD
Tammy Ojo, MD
Jennifer Wyckoff, MD

2015 Inductees

U-M Internal Medicine 2015 Clinical Excellence Society Inductees
Front row (left to right): Georgiana Sanders, MD; Nazanene Esfandiari MD; Kevin Chan, MD; Julie Morelock, MD; Panduranga Rao, MD; Avinash Prabhakar, MD; Seetha Monrad, MD
Back row (left to right): Kevin Flaherty, MD; Anne Schott, MD; Fred Morady, MD; Aaron Berg, MD; Robert Fontana, MD; John Del Valle, MD

Aaron Berg, MD
Kevin Chan, MD
John Del Valle, MD
Nazanene Esfandiari, MD
Kevin Flaherty, MD
Robert Fontana, MD
Seetha Monrad, MD
Fred Morady, MD
Julie Morelock, MD
Avinash Prabhakar, MD
Panduranga Rao, MD
Georgiana Sanders, MD

2014 Inductees

U-M Internal Medicine 2014 Clinical Excellence Society Inductees

Standing (left to right): Hakan Oral, MD; Stanley Chetcuti, MD; David Wesorick, MD; David Bach, MD; James Riddell, MD; David Smith, MD; Mark Mcquillan, MD; Elisa Ostafin, MD; Mark Zalupski, MD; Richard Simon, MD
Seated (left to right): Linda Terrell, MD; William Chey, MD; Erik-Jan Wamsteker, MD; James Baldwin, MD

David Bach, MD
James Baldwin, MD
Stanley Chetcuti, MD
William Chey, MD
Mark Mcquillan, MD
Hakan Oral, MD
Elisa Ostafin, MD
James Riddell, MD
Richard Simon, MD
David Smith, MD
Linda Terrell, MD
Erik-Jan Wamsteker, MD
David Wesorick, MD
Mark Zalupski, MD

2013 Inductees

U-M Internal Medicine 2013 Clinical Excellence Society Inductees
Front row (left to right): Roma Gianchandani, MD; Vallerie McLaughlin, MD; Melvyn Rubenfire, MD; Jocelyn Wiggins, MD; Steven Gradwohl, MD; Michael Heung, MD; Paula Bockenstedt, MD; Anna Lok, MD; Grace Elta, MD; Mark Kaminski, MD
Back row (left to right): Marc McMorris, MD; Thomas O’Connor, MD; Gregory Kalemkerian, MD; Timothy Nostrant, MD; Kim Eagle, MD; Daniel Kaul, MD; William Barrie, MD; Robert Hyzy, MD; Jonathan Segal, MD; Paul Fine, MD; Bruce Redman, DO; Michael Shea, MD
Not shown: W. Joseph McCune, MD

William Barrie, MD
Paula Bockenstedt, MD
Kim Eagle, MD
Grace Elta, MD
Paul Fine, MD
Roma Gianchandani, MD
Steven Gradwohl, MD
Michael Heung, MD
Robert Hyzy, MD
Gregory Kalemkerian, MD
Mark Kaminski, MD
Daniel Kaul, MD
Anna Lok, MD
W. Joseph McCune, MD
Vallerie McLaughlin, MD
Marc McMorris, MD
Timothy Nostrant, MD
Thomas O’Connor, MD
Bruce Redman, DO
Melvyn Rubenfire, MD
Jonathan Segal, MD
Michael Shea, MD
Jocelyn Wiggins, MD