Team Member Recognition

Faculty Recognition - Confetti in the sky


May 2022

Three of our residents will soon be graduating.

Dr. Theresa Estiphan will be the first Cotton Family Pediatric Epilepsy Fellow here at Michigan. Dr. Ishani Kumar will be a headache fellow at CHOP. Dr. Kaitie Cartwright will be doing a multiple sclerosis/neuroimmunology fellowship at The Ohio State University!

April 2022

Teri Behnke, our residency program coordinator, was awarded the University of Michigan Graduate Medical Education Program Administrator Excellence Award!

February 2022

Dr. Renée Shellhaas will be Co-PI for a newly funded R01 grant looking a genetic predisposition to post-neonatal epilepsy in survivors of acute symptomatic neonatal seizures.

Dr. Julie Ziobro will be participating in a trial of Clemizole for treatment of patients with Dravet syndrome.

January 2022


Dr. Vivian Cheung was interviewed on NPR about allocation of scarce COVID drugs for immunocompromised patients:

We had three Pediatric Neurology winners in the inaugural Department of Pediatrics Chair’s Awards!

  • Chair’s Award for Humanism in Clinical Care: Patricia Robertson
  • Chair’s Award for Outstanding Mentorship: Renée Shellhaas, M.D., M.S.
  • Chair’s Award for Clinical Program Development: Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery Program (Nancy McNamara, M.D., and Erin Fedak-Romanowski, D.O., codirectors)

Dr. Jonathan Gaillard received the first University of Michigan Pediatric Neurology Resident Research Grant (Louis Dang, mentor), established from a generous donation from the Pediatric Epilepsy Research Foundation.

December 2021

Dr. Martha Carlson was awarded the Evan Newport HOPE Award, which honors staff, faculty, students or teams who have demonstrated ongoing commitment to the philosophy of patient and family centered care.

Dr. Rachel Gottlieb-Smith was selected to receive the 2022 American Academy of Neurology A.B. Baker Teacher Recognition Award.

Dr. Julie Ziobro is co-investigator, with Dr. Wei Nui, on the grant “Antisense oligonucleotide therapy of X-linked Protocadherin 19 related Autism and Epilepsy,” funded by the Simons Foundation

She also was awarded the Elizabeth E. Kennedy (Children’s Research) Award for her project “Interneuron development in a mouse model of Pcdh19-clustering epilepsy.”

September-October 2021

Dr. Sucheta Joshi was elected to serve on the Child Neurology Society’s Executive Board as Councillor for the Midwest.

Drs. Renée Shellhaas and Louis Dang organized and chaired, “Are We Poised for a Therapeutic Revolution in Child Neurology?,” the most highly rated session at the Child Neurology Society annual meeting.

Our faculty presented at nine seminars, symposia, and workshops during the meeting.

Drs. Dang, Joshi, Leber, Silverstein, and Shellhaas were honored during the meeting’s Swaiman Legacy Luncheon.

Melisa Carrasco McCaul

Best Clinical Neurology Fellow Poster: Melisa Carrasco, M.D., Ph.D.

Paroxysmal Disorders In Infancy and Seizure Likelihood
Melisa Carrasco McCaul, M.D., Ph.D., Theresa Estiphan, M.D., Nancy McNamara, M.D.
Renee Shellhaas M.D.

Dr. Renée Shellhaas was appointed the Donita B. Sullivan Research Professor in the Department of Pediatrics

Rachel Gottlieb Smith, M.D.

Dr. Rachel Gottlieb-Smith was approved as Program Director of our Child Neurology residency.

Dr. Nancy McNamara and Dr. Steven Leber were selected for the Top Teachers award in the Department of Pediatrics for 2020. This award is granted to the top 10% of faculty in the department based on resident and student evaluations.

Julie Ziobro, M.D.

Dr. Julie Ziobro was chosen to present her abstract “A novel mouse model of PCDH19-clustering epilepsy” at the Pediatric Epilepsy Highlights session of the upcoming annual meeting of the American Epilepsy Society.

Paige Rieckhoff was selected by the American Epilepsy Society as one of five nurse practitioners in the country to participate in the AES Fellows’ Program.

August 2021

Renee Shellhaas M.D.

Dr. Renée Shellhaas was awarded the Michigan Medicine Alumni Society’s 2021 Distinguished Early Career Award.

Dr. Erin Neil was selected as a Crain 2021 Notable Rising Star in Heath Care for her work in newborn screen for Spinal Muscular Atrophy.

July 2021

Milestone Achievements

Drs. Patricia Robertson and Faye Silverstein completed their 40th years at the University of Michigan.


Dr. Vivian Cheung was quoted in the Huffington Post regarding her experiences as an Asian woman with disabilities.

June 2021

Renee Shellhaas M.D.

Congratulations to Dr. Renee Shellhaas – 2021 Crain’s Healthcare Hero Award Winner.

The awards recognize leaders in health care and, according to Crain’s Detroit, this year’s winners reflect the extra mile every health care worker has gone during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Dr. Shellhaas won in the physician category for her research that is improving care for newborns with seizures.

Dr. Kerri Neville’s article "Implementation of a Standardized Seizure Action Plan to Improve Communication and Parental Education" was selected by the journal Pediatric Neurology as the best article by a trainee for 2020.

“Your work is impactful, thoughtfully researched and well written.” (Dr. Giulia Benedetti, our former resident and epilepsy fellow, won the same award for 2018!)

Dr. Sucheta Joshi was awarded a grant from the Pediatric Epilepsy Research Foundation for her study ““Developing a transition registry for Adolescents and Young Adults with Epilepsy”

Julie Ziobro, M.D.

Dr. Julie Ziobro was awarded a grant from the American Epilepsy Society and PCDH19 Alliance for her study “Mechanisms of PCDH19 clustering epilepsy.”

Dr. Ziobro was also invited to be on the faculty for this year’s Pellock Resident Seminar on Epilepsy preceding the Child Neurology Society annual meeting. She’ll give the talk on genetics/gene therapy and facilitate a small group.

2021 Neurosciences Day awards:

Best Neurology Resident Poster: Namrata Patel, M.D.

Quality Improvement Initiatives to Increase Administration of Folic Acid
Supplementation for Adolescent Girls Prescribed Antiseizure Medications
Namrata D. Patel, M.D., Samuel J. Mackenzie M.D., Ph.D., Maysa Hamade, M.D., Renée A. Shellhaas, M.D., MS, Nancy A. McNamara, M.D., Erin M. Fedak-Romanowski, DO